the British North America Act, 1867, shall, by Order in Council in that behalf, admit Rupert's Land and the North Western Territory into the Union or Dominion of Canada, there shall be formed out of the same, a Province, which shall be one of the Provinces of the Dominion of Canada, and which shall be called the Province of Manitoba and be bounded as follows: that is to say, commencing at the point where the meridian of ninety-six degrees west longitude from Greenwich intersects the parallel of forty-nine degrees north latitude,—thence due west along the said parallel of forty-nine degrees north latitude (which forms a portion of the boundary line between the United States of America and the said North-Western Territory) to the meridian of ninety-nine degrees of west longitude, then due north along the said meridian of ninety-nine degrees west longitude, to the intersection of the same with the parallel of fifty degrees and thirty minutes north latitude to its intersection with the before-mentioned meridian of ninety-six degrees west longitude,—thence due south along the said meridian of ninety-six degrees west longitude,—thence due south along the said meridian of ninety-six degrees west longitude to the place of beginning.

ninety-six degrees west longitude to the place of beginning.
By an Order of the Queen, in Council, of the 23rd June, 1870,
Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory, were, on and
from the 15th of July last, admitted into the Dominion of Canada,
and on the 23rd of the same month, the Honorable Adams George
Archibald was appointed Lieutenant-Governor of the Province

of Manitoba and the North-West Territories.

Under the provisions of the Act 33 Vic., cap 3, (the Manitoba Act) the Provincial Government is to consist of a Lieutenant-Governor; an Executive Council of not more than five persons; a Legislative Council of seven members, appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor; and a Legislative Assembly of twenty-four members elected by the people. The appointments for the Executive and Legislative Councils have not been completed. The census of the Province has been recently taken, and when the returns of the enumerators are completed, the election of members for the Legislative Assembly can be held. The Province will be represented in the Senate of the Dominion by two members nominated by the Crown, and in the House of Commons by four members elected by the people.

PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT, MANITOBA.

The Hon. Adams George Archibald, Lieut.-Governor of the Province of Manitoba, and Lieut.-Governor of the North-West Territories.

George W. Hill, Esq., Private Secretary.

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL.

Hon. Alfred Boyd, Provincial Secretary.

Hon. Amable Girard, Treasurer.

Hon. Francis G. Johnson, Recorder of Manitoba and the NorthWest Territory.

John Sutherland, Sheriff of the Province.