Specialized Agencies, IAEA and GATT

Blanchard, Francis (France) Director-General of ILO

Saouma, Edouard (Lebanon) Director-General of FAO

M'Bow, Amadou M. (Senegal)

Director-General of UNESCO

Mahler, Halfdan (Denmark) Director-General of WHO

McNamara Robt, S. (U.S.A.)

President of IBRD and IFC

Witteveen, H. Johannes (Netherlands)

Chairman of the Executive Board and Managing Director of

IMF

Lambert, Mr. Yves (France) Secretary-General of ICAO

Sobhi, Mohamed Ibrahim (Egypt) Director-General of UPU

Mili, Mohamed (Tunisia) Secretary-General of ITU

Davies, David A. (Britain) Secretary-General of WMO

Srivastava, C.P. (India) Secretary-General of IMCO

Bogsch, Arpad (U.S.A.)

Director-General of WIPO

IAEA

The statute of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) entered into force on July 29, 1957. It is not a Specialized Agency, but is an independent intergovernmental organization under the aegis of the United Nations. The purpose of the Agency, as defined in its statute, is "to seek to accelerate and enlarge the contribution of atomic energy to peace, health, and prosperity throughout the world". Its Director-General is Sigvard Eklund (Sweden).

GATT

Formally, the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) is an interim step on the road to a more comprehensive International Trade Organization. In practice, however, it has existed for almost 30 years as a virtually autonomous body, administered by separate secretariat and governed by the contracting parties to the Agreement, of which Canada is one. At present, 84 states are members of the GATT and major multilateral trade negotiations have traditionally taken place under its auspices. Its Director-General is Olivier Long (Switzerland).