In Witness Whereof the undersigned, having deposited their respective full powers, have signed this Convention.

DONE in Washington this eighth day of February 1949 in the English language.

(Here follow the names of the signatories for Canada, Denmark, France [with a reservation excluding paragraph 2 of Article I], Iceland, Italy, His Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom and the Government of Newfoundland in respect of Newfoundland, Norway, Portugal, Spain [reserving paragraph 2 of Article I], the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America.)

## 

1. The sub-areas provided for by Article I of this Convention shall be as follows:

Sub-area 1—That portion of the Convention area which lies to the north and east of a rhumb line from a point in 75° 00′ north latitude and 73° 30′ west longitude to a point in 69° 00′ north latitude and 59° 00′ west longitude; east of 59° 00′ west longitude; and to the north and east of a rhumb line from a point in 61° 00′ north latitude and 59° 00′ west longitude to a point in 52° 15′ north latitude and 42° 00′ west longitude.

Sub-area 2—That portion of the Convention area lying to the south and west of sub-area 1 defined above and to the north of the parallel of 52° 15′ north latitude.

Sub-area 3—That portion of the Convention area lying south of the parallel of 52° 15′ north latitude; and to the east of a line extending due north from Cape Bauld on the north coast of Newfoundland to 52° 15′ north latitude; to the north of the parallel of 39° 00′ north latitude; and to the east and north of a rhumb line extending in a northwesterly direction which passes through a point in 43° 30′ north latitude, 55° 00′ west longitude, in the direction of a point in 47° 50′ north latitude, 60° 00′ west longitude, until it intersects a straight line connecting Cape Ray, on the coast of Newfoundland, with Cape North on Cape Breton Island; thence in a northeasterly direction along said line to Cape Ray.

Sub-area 4—That portion of the Convention area lying to the west of sub-area 3 defined above, and to the east of a line described as follows: beginning at the terminus of the international boundary between the United States of America and Canada in Grand Manan Channel, at a point in 44° 46′ 35.34″ north latitude, 66° 54′ 11.23″ west longitude; thence due south to the parallel of 43° 50′ north latitude; thence due west to the meridian of 67° 40′ west longitude; thence due south to the parallel of 42° 20′ north latitude; thence due east to a point in 66° 00′ west longitude; thence along a rhumb line in a southeasterly direction to a point in 42° 00′ north latitude, 65° 40′ west longitude; thence due south to the parallel of 39° 00′ north latitude.

Sub-area 5—That portion of the Convention area lying west of the western boundary of sub-area 4 defined above.