about this meeting which I consider to have been of some consequence and of some promise for peace, security and understanding not only within the Commonwealth but in the world at large.

When the delegates assembled in Montreal in late September there were 23 independent countries represented; Zambia, the 24th country, could not attend for reasons which are understandable. I refer to the situation which exists in Rhodesia and the fact that Zambia is adjacent to that country.

In addition to the 23 independent countries represented, there were three groups of smaller dependencies and islands whose names were set out in the material available to delegates, and one observer country, the United States of America, represented by two distinguished members of the United States Senate. While the conference was in session, on September 30, Bechuanaland became independent as Botswana, and on October 4 Basutoland became independent as Lesotho. On November 30 Barbados will achieve independence.

There were some 65 branches of the association represented by 133 delegates, including one premier, 15 speakers or deputy speakers, three leaders of opposition, and 14 ministers in various governments. In addition to these delegates, there were 30 individuals who came as secretaries to various delegations. Here I should like to say how invaluable I consider the work done by the secretaries and how much they contributed to the success of the deliberations and of the travel arrangements.

There were four past chairmen of the General Council present on this occasion: Mr. Sangster, the Acting Prime Minister of Jamaica; Mr. Tennent from New Zealand; Sir Alister McMullin, the President of the Senate in Australia; and Dr. Lim of Malaysia. Unfortunately, Dr. Lim had to leave because his parliament reassembled while the delegates were on tour. In fact, he had reached Vancouver with the group and finally had to return to Malaysia.

In addition to the meetings that were held by the delegates there were meetings of the Speakers. As I have said, there were some fifteen Speakers or deputies, and these meetings were convened by our own Speaker, the Honourable Senator Smith, and the Speaker of the House of Commons, the Honourable Lucien Lamoureux. As well, there were meetings of many of the clerks-at-the-table from parliaments of the countries represented here. I should say at this stage too that the officers of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association in attendance at the meeting included the Honourable W. W. Kalema, the Minister of Works in Uganda, who was the Vice-President; and the Right Honourable Lord Rowley, the Honorary Treasurer, perhaps better known by his former name of Arthur Henderson. There were also two Clause 24 Councillors, who are the continuing element on the executive of the association: Mr. Bernard Braine, M.P., of the United Kingdom, and the Honourable Dr. Lim from Malaysia.

The Canadian branch was represented by its President, the Honourable John Turner, who made an invaluable contribution to many aspects of the work. Mr. Harold Winch, one of the Vice-Presidents, was also in attendance and did a tremendous job of work with the delegates from so many countries. The other officers of the Association were the two Speakers whom I have already mentioned, and the Honourable Maurice Bourget, who was not available because he was on government business out of the country at the time, but he made a great contribution to the preliminary work that led to the setting up of the conference.

As chairman of the organization I must say that I am particularly indebted to the conference committee which served under the Honourable John Turner. This committee consisted of the Vice-Chairman of the Canadian branch, Mr. Winch, and two of our senators, Senator Grosart, who looked after public relations and publicity, the communications aspect of the conference, and did a magnificent job; and Senator Leonard, who was the custodian of the purse strings, perhaps one of the most d fficult of all the jobs.

In addition, I should like to acknowledge the great co-operation of members on this conference committee from the House of Commons: Mr. Gordon Fairweather, Mr. Ron Basford, Mr. Georges Lachance and Mr. James Walker. All these men worked assiduously for the better part of a year to get this meeting set up in a way that would do credit and justice to Canada.

As President of the Association too I should like to pay a special tribute to the Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Mr. Robin Vanderfelt, whose home is in London, and to the very outstanding team of people he had and continues to have with him and who were present at the conference. Without them we really would have been at a loss on many an