# Order Paper Questions FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO SKI RESORTS IN QUEBEC

## Question No. 4,958—Mr. Herbert:

- 1. In the past five years, did the Government contribute financial assistance or guarantees for any ski resorts in Quebec and, if so, what amount was given or loaned, to whom and under what conditions of repayment?
- 2. (a) Was a request made for government financial assistance for the ski resort on Rigaud Mountain in Quebec (b) was the request denied and, if so, for what reason?

Hon. Ed Lumley (Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce and Minister of Regional Economic Expansion): 1. In the past five years, the Departments of Regional Economic Expansion and Industry Trade and Commerce have not allowed Quebec ski resorts any loan guarantees. The Departments have, however, granted financial assistance for five projects in the form of non-repayable subsidies as follows:

Mont Tremblant (1980-81-82) through the Subsidiary Agreement on Tourism Development	\$8,000,000
Thetford Ski Club (1982-83) Special employment-related initiative	\$ 311,000
Mont Fortin Ski Club Inc. (1983-84) Special employment-related initiative	\$ 300,000
Chikanki Ski Resort (1982-83) Special employment-related initiative	\$ 20,500
Petite Rivière Saint-François (1982-83) For an audio-visual presentation of the region	\$ 23,000

2. (a) No. (b) Not applicable.

## NRC INFORMATION FOLDER

# Question No. 4,965—Mrs. Cossitt:

Does the National Research Council of Canada publish a grey and black information folder to enclose press releases and information packages and, if so (a) what is the cost per year of publishing the folder (b) what is the purpose of enclosing these documents in a folder of this type (c) what is the name and job designation of the highest official authorizing the publication (d) what is the name of the firm that prints the folder?

Mr. Jim Peterson (Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of State for Economic Development and Minister of State for Science and Technology): In so far as the National Research Council is concerned the answer is as follows: Yes.

(a) Approximately \$160 per year. (b) These folders are designed to enclose information packages to facilitate their retention in one place and are used for prospective employees. On one recent occasion they were used for a group of press releases pertaining to announcements of Special Recovery Capital Projects for the National Research Council. (c) Mr. Ray Dolan, Chief, Personnel Services Branch. (d) Buchanan Printers, Winnipeg, Manitoba.

## NRC BOARD OF DIRECTORS

## Question No. 4,967—Mr. Orlikow:

- 1. What is the composition of the Board of Directors of the National Research Council of Canada and what is the address and occupation of each individual?
- 2. What is the compensation and what are all the benefits paid to the chairperson, directors, president and vice-presidents of the Council?

Mr. Jim Peterson (Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of State for Economic Development and Minister of State for Science and Technology): In so far as the National Research Council is concerned the answer is as follows:

1. Pursuant to the National Research Council Act (Section 5(1)) the Council consists of a President and not more than 2 other members to be appointed by the Governor in Council.

#### Members of the National Research Council of Canada

Dr. L. Kerwin President National Research Council of Canada Ottawa, Ontario. K1A 0R6

Dr. R. E. Bell Rutherford Professor of Physics McGill University 3600 University Street Montreal, Quebec. H3A 2T8

Dr. A. Benedek President Zenon Environmental Inc. 845 Harrington Court Burlington, Ontario. L7N 3P3

Mr. W. A. Cumming Executive Vice-President National Research Council of Canada Ottawa, Ontario. K1A 0R6

Mr. R. De Coster President Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada 2172 Parc Bourbonnière Sillery, Quebec. G1T 1B4

Dr. D. J. Doyle President Doyle Tech Corp. Suite 202 4019 Carling Avenue Kanata, Ontario. K2K 2A3

Dr. F.E.F. Dunford Associate Professor Faculty of Administrative Studies University of Manitoba Winnipeg, Manitoba. R3T 2N2

Mr. D. A. Eisenhauer President Atlantic Bridge Co. Limited 81 Tannery Road P.O. Box 1120 Lunenburg, Nova Scotia. BOJ 2CO

Dr. U. M. Franklin Professor Department of Metallurgy and Materials Science University of Toronto Toronto, Ontario. M5S 1A4

Mr. J. G. Fredette Vice-president—Quebec Monenco P.O. Box 6088 Montreal, Quebec. H3C 3Z8 Dr. A. Cabana Dean Faculty of Science Sherbrooke University Sherbrooke, Quebec, J1K 2R1

Miss J. Clark Ogilvy & Renault 1981 McGill College Avenue Montreal, Quebec. H3A 3C1

Dr. B. M. Craig Director Prairie Regional Laboratory National Research Council of Canada 110 Gymnasium Road, U Campus Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. S7N 0W9

Dr. J. D. Keys Philip A. Lapp Limited 14A Hazelton Avenue Toronto, Ontario. M5R 2E2

Dr. P. A. Larkin Professor Institute of Animal Resource Ecology University of British Columbia 2204 Main Mall Vancouver, British Columbia. V6T 1W5

Dr. G. LeBlanc Associate Professor Department of Chemistry University of Moncton Moncton, New Brunswick. E1A 3E9

Dr. E. J. LeRoux Assistant Deputy Minister Research Branch Agriculture Canada Sir John Carling Building 930 Carling Avenue, Room 761 Ottawa, Ontario. K1A 0C5

Dr. J. C. Madden President Microtel Pacific Research Limited 8999 Nelson Way Burnaby, British Columbia. V5A 4B5

Dr. P. M. Maher Dean Faculty of Management University of Calgary 2500 University Drive N.W. Calgary, Alberta. T2N 1N4

Mr. M. P. Smith Assistant General Manager—Credit Scotiabank The Bank of Nova Scotia Toronto Regional Office 44 King Street West Toronto, Ontario. M5H 1H1