In attendance: Right Hon. C. D. Howe, Minister of Trade and Commerce and of Defence Production, Mr. John Dickey, Parliamentary Assistant, the following officials of Trans-Canada Air Lines: Mr. G. R. McGregor, President, Mr. W. S. Harvey, Comptroller, Mr. S. W. Sadler, Auditor of General Accounts, Mr. R. C. MacInnis, Director of Public Relations, and Mr. C. P. Edwards, Director; also, Mr. F. P. Turville, C.A., with Mr. J. D. Morison, C.A. and Mr. D. T. G. Padley, C.A., of the firm of George A. Touche & Co, Chartered Accountants, auditors.

The Committee considered the Annual Report of Trans-Canada Air Lines for the year ending December 31, 1955.

Mr. McGregor was called.

At 12.00 o'clock noon, the Committee took recess.

## AFTERNOON SITTING

The Committee met at 3.30 o'clock p.m. The Chairman, Mr. Harry P. Cavers, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Bell, Byrne, Carrick, Cavers, Churchill, Follwell, Fulton, Hahn, Hamilton (Notre-Dame-de-Grâce), Hamilton (York West), Hanna, Harrison, Johnston (Bow River), Knight, Langlois (Gaspe), Lavigne, Legare, Murphy (Westmorland), St. Laurent (Temiscouata), Weaver.

In attendance: Those listed as in attendance at the morning sitting.

The Committee resumed consideration of the Annual Report of Trans-Canada Air Lines for the year ending December 31, 1955.

The witness, Mr. McGregor, answered questions asked of him at the morning sitting, and he filed with the Committee the following:

"Statements showing comparison of passenger load factors concerning North American Services 1955; also comparison of percentage of noshows to passengers booked during the years 1954 and 1955; also percentage of oversale deplanements, Air Traffic Conference Industry and Trans-Canada Air Lines, 1955."

On motion of Mr. Carrick, it was

Ordered,—That these statements appear as Appendix "A" to today's report of printed minutes of proceedings and evidence.

At 6.00 o'clock the Committee took recess.

## EVENING SITTING

The Committee met at 8.15 o'clock p.m. The Chairman, Mr. Harry P. Cavers, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Bell, Byrne, Carrick, Cavers, Churchill, Follwell, Fulton, Hahn, Hamilton (Notre-Dame-de-Grâce), Hamilton (York W.), Hanna, Harrison, Knight, Langlois (Gaspé), Lavigne, Légaré, McCulloch (Pictou), Power (Quebec South), St-Laurent (Témiscouata), Weaver.

In attendance: The Hon. Geo. C. Marler, Minister of Transport, in addition to those listed as being in attendance at the morning sitting.

The Committee resumed consideration of the Annual Report of Trans-Canada Air Lines for the year ending December 31, 1955.