## **News Release**

Minister for International Trade



# Communiqué

Ministre du Commerce extérieur

No. 129

May 28, 1991

### THREE NEW MEMBERS OF FTA AUTO PANEL

The Minister of Industry, Science and Technology and Minister for International Trade, the Honourable Michael H. Wilson, has announced three new appointments to the binational Automotive Select Panel established under the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement.

The new Canadian members of the private sector Panel are Mr. G. Yves Landry, President and CEO of Chrysler Canada Ltd., Mr. Julien Métivier, President of IPL Ltd., and Mr. Stephen Van Houten, President of the Automotive Parts Manufacturers' Association.

The three appointments fill the vacancies created by the resignations of Mr. Harry Bowler, Mr. Paul Calvi, and Mr. Maurice Closs.

The Automotive Select Panel, made up of 15 members from each country, was established by Canada and the United States to assess the state of the North American automotive industry and to propose public policy measures and private initiatives to improve its competitiveness in domestic and foreign markets. The Panel is expected to complete its major study on the global competitiveness of the Canadian and U.S. automotive industries by the end of 1991.

Minister Wilson said that given their knowledge and experience, he was pleased that Messrs. Landry, Métivier and Van Houten had accepted to serve on the Panel. He added that their participation will continue to ensure that the broad spectrum of Canadian interests are well represented on the binational Panel.

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874

