Mr. Lapierre: Mr. Speaker, you must have noticed that I also abstained. It was out of courtesy for the Minister of State for Finance who has been urgently called to Paris. But if I had not been paired, I would have voted against this bill, because I am pro-choice.

Some hon. members: Hear, hear!

[English]

Mr. Angus: Mr. Speaker, I wish to draw to your attention that after the first suspension during the taking of the vote, the member for Pontiac-Gatineau-Labelle entered the House and then proceeded to vote when it came to his turn.

I would ask that the records be examined to see whether the member's vote should have been counted.

Mr. Speaker: The member for Thunder Bay-Atikokan has raised a point of order. The member for Pontiac-Gatineau-Labelle wishes to address the Chair?

Mr. Moore: Mr. Speaker, indeed I did arrive late. There was a hold-up during the vote. I did everything I could to be here. I hired a helicopter. If I were to register my vote, it would be with the government.

Mr. Speaker: The hon. member has made it very clear that he did arrive late. I have to accept the point of order of the hon. member for Thunder Bay-Atikokan. The vote will be changed accordingly.

GOVERNMENT EXPENDITURES RESTRAINT ACT

MEASURE TO AMEND

The House resumed from Monday, May 28, consideration of Bill C-69, an act to amend certain statutes to enable restraint of government expenditures, as reported (without amendment) from the Standing Committee on Finance.

Mr. Speaker: The House will now proceed to the taking of the deferred divisions on Bill C-69, an act to amend certain statutes to enable restraint of government expenditures.

Shall I dispense with the ringing of the bells?

Some hon. members: Dispense.

Mr. Speaker: Accordingly, the first question is on Motion No. 4, standing in the name of Ms. Langan.

Government Orders

The House divided on the motion, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 270)

YEAS

Members

Althouse Axworthy (Saskatoon - Clark's Crossing) Barrett Benjamin Blaikie Butland de Jong Fisher Fulton Funk

Harvey (Edmonton East) Gardine Heap Hovdebo

Hunter Karpoff Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast) Kindy Kristiansen

Langan (Mission—Coquitlam) MacWilliam Laporte McCurdy McLaughlin Mitchell

Murphy Parker Nystrom Robinson Rodriguez

Skelly (North Island-Powell River) Skelly (Comox-Alberni) Taylor

Young (Beaches - Woodbine) - 39 Whittaker

NAYS

Members

Anawak Anderson Arseneault Andre Assad Atkinson

Attewell Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre) Bélair

Beatty Bellemare Belsher Berger Bernier Bertrand Bevilacqua Biornson Blackburn (Jonquière) Blenkarn Blondin

Bird

Côté

Fee

Bosley Bouchard (Roberval) Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Bourgault

Boyer Brightwell Browes Caccia Cadieux Callbeck Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Cardiff Case Catterall Chadwick Charest

Clark (Yellowhead) Clark (Brandon-Souris)

Clifford Cole Comuzzi Cooper Corbett Cook Corbeil Couture Crawford Crosby (Halifax West)

Danis Darling DeBlois de Cotret Della Noce Desjardins Dingwall Dobbie Dick Dionne Domm Duhamel Duplessis Edwards Epp Feltham Ferguson Ferland

Finestone Flis Fontaine Fontana Foster Friesen Gaffney Gagliano

Gibeau Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine)