habit of thought would make it difficult for the smaller powers to make their contribution. Experience has shown that the contribution of smaller powers is not a negligible one, either to the preserving of the peace or to

its restoration when peace has been disturbed.

The people of Canada are firm in their resolve to do whatever lies in their power to insure that the world will not be engulfed for a third time by a tidal wave of savagery and despotism. That is why our Parliament overwhelmingly endorsed the acceptance of the invitation to Canada to participate in this Conference. That is why our Parliament accepted the proposals of the inviting powers as a satisfactory general basis for the discussion of the proposed Charter. That is why the delegation from Canada received from Parliament a mandate to use its best endeavours at this Conference to further an agreement to establish a world security organization. The measure of the unanimity of our country is to be found in its delegation to this Conference. The delegates were selected while our Parliament was in session. They were chosen from both Houses and from both sides of each House. They represent all important shades of opinion in Canada.

In conclusion, may I express my firm conviction that the spirit in which we approach the great task of this Conference will determine the measure of its success. It is for each nation to remember that over all nations is humanity. It is for all to remember that justice is the common concern of mankind. The years of war have surely taught the supreme lesson that men and nations should not be made to serve selfish national ends, whether those ends be isolated self-defence or world domination.

Nations everywhere must unite to save and to serve humanity.

## SECTION 3

## THE ORGANIZATION OF THE CONFERENCE

## MEMBERS

The four Sponsoring Powers invited to the Conference forty-two states which had signed the Declaration by United Nations. Poland was the only state which had signed the Declaration which was not invited. This was because the Sponsoring Powers did not reach agreement on the recognition of a Polish Provisional Government of National Unity until after the Conference had ended.

After the Conference had met, it invited four states: the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic, the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic, Argentina and Denmark. Thus the Conference consisted of delegations from the following fifty states:

Cuba Honduras Argentina Australia Czechoslovakia Belgium Denmark Bolivia Dominican Republic Brazil Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic Canada Ethiopia Chile France Greece China Colombia Guatemala Costa Rica Haiti

India Iran Iraq Lebanon Liberia Luxembourg Mexico Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Norway