Dr. Marsden then proposed the following gentlemen, who were named by the President to act as scrutineers: Drs. Smallwood, Scott, Bibaud, Lemieux, and Russell, being a member of each university or school, and an independent member from each of the districts of Quebec and Montreal.

The meeting adjourned for some time to enable the scrutineers to discharge their task without interruption, and met again at about 3 P. M., when the president declared the following gentlemen elected governors for the ensuing three years, viz.:

For the City of Montreal.

Drs. Peltier, Munro, Jones, Scott, Boyer, Sutherland, Robillard, Howard.

District of Montreal.

Drs. Smallwood, Weilbrenner, Tassé, Brigham, Turcot, Chamberlin, Foster.

For the City of Quebec.

Drs. Russell, Marsden, Fremont, Robitaille, Landry, Tessier, Blanchet, Jackson.

District of Quebec.

Drs. Von Iffland, Tetu, Marmette, Boudreau, Michaud, Forrest, Charest.

For Three Rivers and District of St. Maurice.

Drs. Fenwick, Smith, Chevrefils, and Drs. Glines, Gilbert, Johnson.

On the result of the election being declared the meeting adjourned, and the newly elected governors met to elect their officers.

Dr. Hall, the late president, whose term of office had just expired, rose and addressed the meeting which was composed in a great measure of old members, and in a neat and appropriate speech thanked them for the uniform and cordial support which they had ever given him in the chair, and claimed the same for his successor, when he called Dr. R. H. Russel to the chair, pro tem.

The meeting was then requested to vote for a President, Dr. Jones acting as scrutineer; when there being a large majority of votes in favour of Dr. Marsden, that gentleman was declared to be the President of the College and of the Board of Governors.

The President-elect having assumed the Chair, and briefly returned thanks for the honor conferred upon him, the meeting proceeded to elect two Vice-Presidents, one for Quebec, and the other for Montreal. For the district of Quebec the majority of votes was in favour of Dr. Von Iffland, who was elected Vice-President for the second time. For the district of Montreal, the vote was equal between Drs. Munro, Scott, and Sutherland. The President being called upon to give the casting vote in case of ties, gave it in favour of Dr. Sutherland, who however declined the honor, whereupon the President declined to exercise his privilege again, but called on the meeting for a new ballot, which resulted in the election of Dr. Scott as Vice-President for Montreal.

When the ballot for Secretaries was about to be declared, Dr. Landry, who had filled that office for the district of Quebec for several years, rose and requested such persons as intended to vote for him not to throw away their votes, as he could not again accept the charge. The ballot resulted in the election of Drs. Peltier and Russell as Secretaries of the College.