province. This is what is called the "Simultaneous Polling Act."

The first name of Charlottetown was "Port La Joye," so called by the French, who were the first European settlers of the Island. The English changed the name to Charlottetown in honor of Queen Charlotte, wife of George III.

Our first House of Parliament, which met in 1773, consisted of eighteen members.

Confederation was inaugerated in 1867.

There have been twenty-two Governors of P.E.1, from 1770 to 1915. Fourteen of these were appointed by the Imperial Parliament, beginning with Patterson; and eight by the Dominion Government, beginning with Daniel Hodgson. The present Governor (1915) is Hon. Benjamin Rogers.

The first Governor-General of the Dominion was Viscount Monk, (1867), previously Governor of Canada

The name Prince Edward Island was given to this province in honor of Prince Edward, Duke of Kent, father of Queen Victoria, and fourth son of George III, on account of the interest he took in the affairs of our Island, when he commanded the British forces at Halifax.

Mitchell Bros., Printers, Cameron Block, Ch'town