vidual members administer different government departments such as finance, agriculture, external affairs, justice. In addition, there are sometimes one or more Cabinet members known as Ministers without Portfolio, who are not in charge of departments but who may be assigned by the Prime Minister to carry out specific executive functions within departments.

Collectively, the Cabinet provides leadership and initiative in the determination of national policy and the appointment of other chief officers of state, including lieutenant-governors of the provinces, judges and ambassadors. The Cabinet is at all times responsible to the House of Commons.

A federal general election is only one of many occasions on which Canadian citizens record their will concerning the conduct of public affairs. Each of the ten provinces in the Canadian federation has its own elected legislature. Each province has its own system of local government under which elected councils direct the affairs of cities, towns, villages, rural municipalities and school districts.

The federal Parliament, however, is the only body that makes laws for and speaks for Canada as a nation. It consists of the Queen, represented in Canada by her viceroy the Governor General, the appointed Senate and the elected House of Commons.

Nominally important, the Queen's powers — exercised through the Governor General — are used only on the advice of the Cabinet, in respect to executive decisions, and of the two Houses of Parliament, in respect to legislation. The powers of the Cabinet, too, are often exercised through the Governor General, by Orders-in-Council that he must sign.

The Senate's powers are limited in two fundamental respects. It may not initiate financial legislation. This means that it has little more than a negative say on the taxes to be levied on Canadians and the use to which public funds may be put. Furthermore, unlike the House of Commons, it has no control over the executive. It cannot unseat a Government.

Senators are appointed by the Governor General.

The House of Commons derives its power from the fact that the Prime Minister and most members of his Cabinet also belong