forward, and the classification, although it should not be accepted for the general purposes of the zoologist, would seem to be well adapted for arranging the specimens in a Dental museum.

At the conclusion of the paper, Mr. Vasey expressed his thanks to the curator, and urged members to contribute such specimens as they had to the Museum of the Society.

Dr. Murie expressed his pleasure with Mr. Hulme's paper. Though he differed from him in some points, he thought that a proper arrangement of objects was of more importance than the gathering together of a large collection. In conclusion, he paid a warm tribute of praise to the zeal and enthusiasm of Mr. Hulme in his work, and considered he had done good service to the Society by bringing this matter forward.

Mr. Hulme, in reply, thanked Mr. Vasey and Dr. Murie for their remarks; it seemed to him that the only way in which he and Dr. Murie differed was that whilst Dr. Murie viewed the matter from a purely scientific point of view, he considered that objects relating to Dental practice should take precedence of simple natural history in a Dental museum.

Mr. Harrison, the Treasurer, read the financial report, which showed that the Society's receipts for the year ending October 31, 1868, were £370 13s.; expenses, £360 2s. 10d.; the entire assets of the Society having cost £276 9s. 7d.; stock, £663 12s. 2d. There were 89 resident—144 non-resident members; total, 233 paying members, besides 46 honorary or corresponding members.

The usual course of election having been followed, the following gentlemen were declared elected officers and councillors for the year 1869.

President.—H. J. Barrett, Esq.

Vice-Presidents.—Resident: R. Hepburn, Esq., Arnold Rogers, Esq., John B. Fletcher, Esq. Non-resident: S. L. Rymer, Esq., Croydon; P. Orphoot, Esq., Edinburgh; George T. Parkinson, Esq., Bath.

Treasurer.—W. A. Harrison, Esq.

Librarian.—Alfred Coleman, Esq.

Honorary Secretaries.—Ordinary: Edwin Sercombe, Esq.; Charles James Fox, Esq. For Foreign Correspondence: John Drew, Esq. Councillors.—Resident: G. Gregson, Esq.; C. Vasey, Esq.; Edwin Saunders, Esq.; A. Hockley, Esq.; J. Walker, Esq.; Isaac Sheffield, Esq.; J. W. Elliot, Esq.; Thomas A. Rogers, Esq.; W. G. Bennett,