CHAPTER I. THE ANGLICAN CHURCH IN CHINA

THE Anglican Church in China includes Bishops and Missionaries of the Church of England, the Episcopal Church in the United States, and the Church of England in Canada; and the work and the local churches under their respective jurisdictions are organized in the Chung-Hua Sheng-Kung-Hui, which is the Chinese branch of the Anglican Communion.

It was not until 1844 that work of the Anglican Communion really began in China. In that year the American Church, whose missionaries had been settled in Singapore and Java to learn Chinese as a necessary preliminary to work in China, was able to consecrate the first Bishop, William James Boone, as Bishop for Shanghai.

In this same year the Church Missionary Society sent its first two men to China, and in 1849 one of these, the Rev. George Smith, was consecrated the first British Bishop, though he was the second Bishop of the Anglican Communion in China. His jurisdiction extended over all English clergy throughout the Far East, and the name of his See was taken from the city of Victoria, Hongkong, the island that had been ceded to the British in 1842.

For the next twenty-three years no more Bishops were consecrated, until in 1872, the third Bishopric, that of Mid-China, which is now called Chekiang, was founded. It was cut off from Victoria, and included practically the northern half of China, but it has been divided and sub-divided, until now only the Province of Chekiang is included in the diocese proper, though there is still connected with it a jurisdiction over certain British chaplaincies outside of the Chekiang Province.

In 1880 the Diocese of North China was established, comprising the six Northern Provinces of China, and the Rev. Charles P. Scott was chosen as Bishop. When this new diocese was constituted, the Church Missionary Society withdrew from the North, handing over the work of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, which supports the Diocese.