MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, April 4, 1939.

The Special Committee on Radio Broadcasting met this day at 11 o'clock, a.m. The Chairman, Mr. A. L. Beaubien, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Beaubien, Bertrand (Laurier), Bouchard, Dupuis, Hamilton, Héon, Howe, Hurtubise, Isnor, Johnston (Bow River), Lawson, MacKenzie (Neepawa), MacMillan, Patterson, Ross (Moose Jaw), Slaght, Stevens, Thompson, Turgeon, Woodsworth-20.

In attendance;

- Mr. Leonard W. Brockington, Chairman, Board of Governors, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation;
- Mr. Alan B. Plaunt, Board of Governors, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation;
- Mr. Gladstone Murray, General Manager, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation;
- Dr. Augustin Frigon, Assistant General Manager, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation;
- Mr. Donald Masson, Chief Executive, Assistant to Canadian Broadcasting Corporation;
- Mr. W. O. Findlay, Assistant to Chief Executive, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation;
- Mr. H. C. Keddy, Secretary to the General Manager, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation;

Mr. T. T. Odell, Executive Office, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. The Chairman read to the Committee a letter received from Mr. Glen Bannerman, President of the Association of Canadian Advertisers.

Mr. George McCullagh, publisher of the Globe and Mail of Toronto, called.

The witness presented to the Committee a submission outlining the incidents in relation to the cancellation by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation of broadcasting time that he had arranged for during 1938-39. He also answered questions put by the following members of the Committee: Messrs Beaubien, Ross (Moose Jaw), Hamilton, Thompson, Slaght, Stevens, Lawson, Johnston (Bow River), Dupuis, Héon and Turgeon.

Witness retired.

Mr. Leonard W. Brockington recalled.

Witness retired.

Discussion followed and on motion of Mr. Woodsworth,

Resolved,—That Mr. McCullagh be not further heard now but that if necessary he be recalled at a future date.

The Comimttee then adjourned to meet again on Thursday, April 13th, at 11 o'clock, a.m.

WALTER HILL, Clerk of the Committee.