which they had annexed the Petition referred to them by the House relative thereto; and the names of the Committee were read as follow:-

Aquila Walsh, Esquire; John Poupore, Esquire; David Stirton, Esquire; Amos Wright, Esquire; Chairman, the Honorable Thomas J. J. Loragner.

Mr. Bell, (of Lanark,) reported, from the General Committee of Elections, the names of the Members of the Select Committee appointed to try and determine the matter of the Petition complaining of an undue Election and Return for the County of Bellechasse, to which they had annexed the Petition referred to them by the House relative thereto; and the names of the Committee were read as follow :-

François Zephirin Tassé, Esquire; Richard William Scott, Esquire; Joseph Paschal Falkner, Esquire; Thomas Scatcherd, Esquire; Chairman, Skeffington Connor, Esquire.

Mr. Bell, (of Lanark,) reported, from the General Committee of Elections, the names of the Members of the Select Committee appointed to try and determine the matter of the Petition complaining of an undue Election and Return for the East Riding of the County of Northumberland, to which they had annexed the Petition referred to them by the House relative thereto; and the names of the Committee were read as follow:-

John Simpson, Esquire; John White, Esquire; David Edward Price, Esquire;

Robert Brown Somerville, Esquire; Chairman, Adam Wilson, Esquire.

On motion of Mr. Bell, (of Lanark,) seconded by Mr. Bureau,

Ordered, That in pursuance of the 52nd Section of the Act respecting Parliamentary Controverted Elections, the General Committee of Elections have leave to increase the number of members forming "The Chairmen's Panel," by adding four additional names thereto.

Then, on motion of the Honorable Mr. Attorney General Cartier, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Galt,

The House adjourned at half-past 3 o'clock, P. M.

Thursday, 22nd May, 1862.

The following Petitions were severally brought up, and laid on the Table:-

By Mr. Crawford,—The Petition of the Toronto Harbour Commissioners. By Mr. Bown,—The Petition of the Municipal Council of the County of Brant.

By Mr. Dickson,—The Petition of the Municipality of the Township of Colborne, County of Huron.

By Mr. Robitaille,—The Petition of the Historical Society of Montreal.

By Mr. John J. Ross,—The Petition of H. E. Tourigny and others, of the Parish of St. Geneviève de Bastican; and the Petition of A. Massicotte and others, of the Parish of St. Prosper, both of the County of Champlain.

By the Honorable Mr. Attorney General Cartier,-The Petition of the Municipality

of the Township of North Stukely.

By Mr. White,—The Petition of John William Kerr, of the Township of Barton.

By Mr. Joseph Dufresne,—The Petition of Charles Rivais, of the Parish of Ste. Julienne de Rawdon, County of Montcalm.

By Mr. Dorion,—The Petition of J. B. Brien dit Dérocher and others, of the Parish of St. Leonard; and the Petition of H. Beaupré and others, of the Parish of St. Norbert d'Arthabaska.

By Mr. Harcourt,—The Petition of A. Stewart, and others, of the Third and Fourth

Concessions of the Township of Crowland.

By the Honorable Mr. Mowat,-The Petition of A. Farewell, and others, of the Village of Oshawa.

Pursuant to the Order of the Day, the following Petitions were read: Of Alexander McCrae and others, of the Township of Sarnia; of Thomas E. Edger