MURRAY: LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN MARITIME PROVINCES 43

were adopted.¹ In 1829 the province contained 10 counties (5 counties being subdivided into 12 districts) and 50 townships.

Murdoch's expectation that the "townships" division would extend over the whole province has not been realized. To-day they are important only as marks of land grants. The decline of the "township" began with the Electoral Act of 1847. Previous to this, simultaneous elections had been impossible because of the difficulty of polling the entire vote of a township or settlement in one day. To meet this difficulty the counties were divided into electoral districts or polling sections. Where townships existed this Act respected their boundaries in the setting off of the electoral districts. When no townships were recognized the electoral district provided a useful unit. In time the polling section became the constituency of a county councillor, and a poor division. In 1843 and 1844 two large and unwieldy townships in Pictou county were subdivided for ; oor purposes. In 1855 an Act provided for the incorporation of townships. No advantage was taken of its permission. When the right of sending a representative to the Assembly was taken from the townships in 1857 or 1858 the township lost the last shred of political importance. Henceforth it was but a name known to those who were interested in land titles.

New Brunswick.—Before New Brunswick was erected into a separate province the county of Sunbury and the township of Sackville were granted representation (1767) in the Assembly of Nova Scotia. The boundaries of the parishes or tow is of what afterwards became the county of Westmorland were defined by the boundaries of the lands granted by Nova Scotia.

By letters patent in 1785 Governor Carleton set off the boundaries of the counties of St. John, Westmorland, Charlotte, Northumberland, Kings, Queens, York and Sunbury; and for the better administration of justice subdivided them into towns or parishes. The Legislature confirmed this division in 1786.³

² In the Consolidated Statutes of 1903 the boundaries and dates of the erection of the various counties and parishes are given.

[237]

¹ The townships rapidly increased in number. In 1757 two were recognized as entitled to send representatives to the Assembly—Halifax and Lunenburg. Two years later Annapolis, Horton, and Cumberland were included. Then followed Truro, Onshow. Cornwallis, Falmouth, Newport, Liverpool and Granville (1765), Yarmouth and Sunbury (1767), Londonderry (1770). Barrington (1774), Shelhurne (1784), Amherst and Windsor (1785), Digby (1784). There were other townships which were not entitled to representation, such as New Dublin (1765), and Chester (1759).