Order Paper Questions

- 5. (a) Who negotiated the lease for the Lyndhurst Post Office on behalf of the government (b) what are the names of all persons involved in such negotiations (c) what is the exact or approximate date that such negotiations commenced?
- 6. Is the government aware whether or not the owner of the premises containing the Lyndhurst Post Office is the daughter of any relative whatsoever of the Postmaster at Kingston, Ontario?
- Mr. John M. Reid (Parliamentary Secretary to President of the Privy Council): I am informed by the Departments of Post Office and Public Works as follows: 1. (a) The former store known as the "Webster Building" located on the northeast corner of Charles and Jonas Streets in Lyndhurst, Ontario. (b) Mrs. Deborah Lawlor. The rent is \$5,500 per annum (all inclusive).
- 2. Five years effective May 1, 1973, with option to renew for a further period of five years on three months' written notice.
- 3. 82 Pembroke Street, Kingston, Ontario. K7L 4N7.
- 4. Mr. J. S. Hackett, 82 Pembroke Street, Kingston, Ontario. K7L 4N7
- 5. (a) Mr. M. Dubuc, Property Officer, Property Services Branch, Capital Region, Department of Public Works, Ottawa, Ontario. (b) Mrs. Deborah Lawlor, the owner, and Mr. M. Dubuc of this Department. (c) January 3, 1973.
- 6. The owner of the premises housing the Lyndhurst, Ontario, Post Office is the daughter of the Postmaster at Kingston, Ontario.

CLOSURE OF POST OFFICES IN BRITISH COLUMBIA

Question No. 64-Mr. Cossitt:

- 1. How many post offices have been closed by the government in the Province of British Columbia since April 20, 1968?
- 2. In what municipality and in what electoral district are each of these post offices located?
- Hon. André Ouellet (Postmaster General): 1. April 1968-September 1970, 78; October 1970-present, 26. The program to close small post offices ended in September 1970. Closings since that date are due to factors such as inauguration of letter carrier or rural delivery to meet public request, amalgamation of communities, dwindling populations, inability to recruit replacement on death or retirement of former postmaster, etc.
- 2. Kootenay West, 19; New Westminster, 1; Kamloops-Cariboo, 12; Skeena, 13; Okanagan Boundary, 4; Okanagan-Kootenay, 3; Capilano, 2; Comox-Alberni, 11; Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands, 7; Surrey-White Rock, 3; Fraser Valley West, 6; Prince George-Peace River, 7; Burnaby-Richmond-Delta, 1; Victoria, 1; Coast Chilcotin, 10; Yukon Territories, 4. It is not possible, without going to a very large expense, to include the municipalities of each closed post office. Many former offices are located in unincorporated areas and do not belong to any municipality. Many townships have been amalgamated with other municipalities and now come under one government.

CLOSURE OF POST OFFICES IN ALBERTA

Question No. 65—Mr. Cossitt:

1. How many post offices have been closed by the government in the Province of Alberta since April 20, 1968?

[Mr. Cossitt.]

- 2. In what municipality and in what electoral district are each of these post offices located?
- Hon. André Ouellet (Postmaster General): 1. April 1968-September 1970, 184; October 1970-present, 7. The program to close small post offices ended in September 1970. Closings since that date are due to factors such as inauguration of letter carrier or rural delivery to meet public request, amalgamation of communities, dwindling populations, inability to recruit replacement on death or retirement of former postmaster, etc.
- 2. Crowfoot, 21; Red Deer, 14; Palliser, 10; Medicine Hat, 11; Rocky Mountain, 14; Lethbridge, 5; Peace River, 16; Northwest Territories, 2; Vegreville, 25; Pembina, 29; Wetaskiwin, 18; Battle River, 2; Athabasca, 19; Edmonton West, 3; Calgary South, 2. It is not possible, without going to a very large expense, to include the municipalities of each closed post office. Many former offices are located in unincorporated areas and do not belong to any municipality. Many townships have been amalgamated with other municipalities and now come under one government.

CLOSURE OF POST OFFICES IN MANITOBA

Question No. 66-Mr. Cossitt:

- 1. How many post offices have been closed by the government in the Province of Manitoba since April 20, 1968?
- 2. In what municipality and in what electoral district are each of these post offices located?
- Hon. André Ouellet (Postmaster General): 1. April 1968-September 1970, 138; October 1970-present, 9. The program to close small post offices ended in September 1970. Closings since that date are due to factors such as inauguration of letter carrier or rural delivery to meet public request, amalgamation of communities, dwindling populations, inability to recruit replacement on death or retirement of former postmaster, etc.
- 2. Provencher, 30; Dauphin, 32; Lisgar, 17; Brandon-Souris, 8; Portage, 9; Churchill, 9; Marquette, 31; St. Boniface, 1; Selkirk, 10. It is not possible, without going to a very large expense to include the municipalities of each closed post office. Many former offices are located in unincorporated areas and do not belong to any municipality. Many townships have been amalgamated with other municipalities and now come under one government.

CLOSURE OF POST OFFICES IN QUEBEC

Question No. 67-Mr. Cossitt:

- 1. How many post offices have been closed by the government in the Province of Quebec since April 20, 1968?
- 2. In what municipality and in what electoral district are each of these post offices located?

Hon. André Ouellet (Postmaster General): 1. April 1968-September 1970, 199; October 1970-present, 10. The program to close small post offices ended in September 1970. Closings since that date are due to factors such as inauguration of letter carrier or rural delivery to meet public request, amalgamation of communities, dwindling populations, inability to recruit replacement on death or retirement of former postmaster, etc.