of the administrative functions exercised by them and shall be the representatives of the various Governmental services selected by mutual agreement by the French Government and the Commission. They shall cease to form part of the Committee from the day they relinquish the official functions in respect of which they were nominated to the Committee. The French Government shall give the Commission previous warning of any changes in regard to official functions or appointments which may take place among the French official members. The Commission shall appoint the Secretary-General of the above Committee.

go

et

no

m m

Fr

te

rel

en

cré

mi

ma

dar

tra

Zéi

the stone limitetien de so Part IV.—Final Provisions

ARTICLE 14 For the purposes of the present Agreement the expression "French territory" signifies Metropolitan France, Algeria, the departments of France Overseas, the territories and States of the French Union and the States under French protection. ble du consilère d'oncomention' indiquent que les objets de produits

ARTICLE 15

The present Agreement shall supersede the Agreement of 26th November, 1918, and its provisions regarding the rights and functions of the Commission shall be applicable to the cemeteries, graves and memorials established under that Agreement.

In addition, it is hereby expressly recognised that the rights enjoyed by the Commission under the Agreement of 26th November, 1918, are to be preserved and continued by the present Agreement.

ARTICLE 16

The present Agreement shall come into force on signature.

In witness whereof the undersigned, duly authorised by their respective Governments, have signed the present Agreement in English and French, both texts being equally authentic, and have affixed thereto their seals.

Done at Paris this 31st day of October, 1951, in a single copy, which shall be deposited in the archives of the French Government and of which certified copies shall be transmitted by that Government to each of the other Signatory Governments.

(Here follow the names of the signatories for France, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the Union of South Africa, India and Pakistan.)