The Board of Governors of McGill University has made the following appointments in the Faculty of Medicine:—Dr. J. G. McCarthy, to be assistant professor of anatomy; Dr. J. T. Halsey, to be assistant professor of pharmacology and therapeutics; Dr. R. A. Kerry, to be lecturer in pharmacology and therapeutics; Dr. S. Ridley Mackenzie, to be lecturer in clinical surgery; Dr. John McCrae, to be lecturer in pathology; Dr. D. A. Shirres, to be lecturer in neuro-pathology; Dr. D. McTaggart, to be lecturer in medico-legal pathology.

A deputation, representing the medical faculties of Toronto and Trinity University waited on the Ontario Government on the 15th July, on the subject of the federation of the universities. The deputation expressed themselves as favorable to the union of the two institutions, and asked that the Government assure the medical faculty of the endowment of chairs of preventive science, medical jurisprudence, sanitary science, anatomy, pathology and therapeutics. The Premier on behalf of the Government assured the deputation that the subject would have favourable consideration.

A final decision in the case of the town of Windsor against the estate of Godfrey Payzant has been rendered by the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia. The testator left \$20,000 to the town to assist in building and maintaining a hospital on condition that the corporation should procure a like sum by a tax on the citizens or from private donations or otherwise, to be added to this bequest.

Apparently \$6,000 had been raised in accordance with the terms, but in respect to the \$14,000 which, under an act of the legislature of the province the Provincial Government had granted to the town to enable it to comply with the requirements, it was disputed that the contribution was within the terms of the will. The seven years are just expiring, and in the judge's opinion, the words of the bequest are broad enough to cover the amount procured from the Government.

The Medical Council of the Ontario College of Physicians and Surgeons met in Toronto on 7th July. The following officers were elected:—President, Dr. J. A. Robertson, Stratford; vice-president, Hon. Senator Sullivan, Kingston; treasurer, Dr. H. Wilberforce Atkins, Toronto; registrar, Dr. R. A. Pyne, Toronto; solicitor, Christopher Robinson, K.C., Toronto; prosecutor, Charles Rose, Toronto.

The question of matriculation was referred to a small select committee as the attempt made last year to raise the standard from the