formerly belonged to Germany. From west to east three of the groups are named, respectively, Pelew, Caroline, and Marshall Islands. To the north of the Carolines is a fourth group—the Mariana or Ladrone Islands. All are composed of narrow strips of coral sand, seldom six hundred yards wide and of no great productivity. The natives are quiet, and skilful at boat-making and sailing.

By the terms of peace Japan was given a mandate over the islands north of the Equator, namely, the Pelew, Caroline, Marshall, and Mariana.

Australia was given a mandate over all those islands south of the Equator, with the exception of German Samoa, which was given to New Zealand. Accordingly, Australia has a mandate over Kaiser Wilhelm's Land, the Bismarck Archipelago, and the German Solomon Islands. One of the first things Australia did, after assuming her mandate, was to restore to many of the islands their original English names, which had been Germanized by their former owner. For example, in the Bismarck Archipelago, Neu Pommern was given its former name of New Britain; Neu Mecklenburg was changed to New Ireland, and the whole Bismarck group was given the good old English name of New Britain Archipelago.