NAYS

Messrs: Allmand Laniel Anderson LeBlanc (Rimouski) Badanai Lefebyre Basford Legault Béchard Lessard (LaSalle) Beer Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Blair Loiselle Blouin Mackasev Borrie McBride Breau McIlraith Buchanan Mahoney Caccia Marchand (Langelier) Cadieux (Labelle) Marchand (Kamloops-Cafik Chappell Cariboo) Chrétien Noël Clermont O'Connell Olson Cobbe Orange Comtois Côté (Richelieu) Osler Côté (Longueuil) Otto Pelletier Cullen Penner Cyr Pepin Deachman Perrault De Bané Pilon Douglas (Assiniboia) Portelance Drury Pringle Dubé Prud'homme Forest Richardson Forget Roberts Foster Rochon Francis Roy (Timmins) Gendron Smith (Northumberland-Givens Miramichi) Gover Smith (Saint-Jean) Greene Stafford Groos Stanbury Guay (St. Boniface) St. Pierre Guay (Lévis) Sulatycky Guilbault Thomas (Maisonneuve) Hopkins Trudeau Howard (Okanagan Trudel Boundary) Turner (London East) Hymmen Turner (Ottawa-Isabelle Carleton) Jerome Wahn

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost. The Chair will now put Motion No. 9. The

hon. member for Parry Sound-Muskoka (Mr.

Walker

Watson

Whelan

Whicher

Whiting

Yanakis-100.

Aiken) moves:

(Vancouver South)

Lang (Saskatoon-

Humboldt)

Kaplan

Kierans

Laing

Laflamme

Langlois

That Bill C-144, an act to provide for the management of the water resources of Canada including research and the planning and implementation of programs relating to the conservation, development and utilization of water resources be amended by striking out clause 8 and substituting the following:

"8. Except in quantities and under conditions prescribed with respect to waste disposal in a water quality management area, no person shall deposit or permit the deposit of waste of any type in any

Dinision

waters or in any place under any conditions where such waste or any other waste that results from the deposit of such waste may enter any such waters."

Mr. Speaker: Those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: Those opposed will please say nav.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion negatived on division.

Motion No. 9 (Mr. Aiken) negatived.

• (4:10 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: The House will now proceed to Motion No. 11. The question is the following one. The hon, member for Parry Sound-Muskoka (Mr. Aiken) moves:

That Bill C-144, to provide for the management of the water resources of Canada including research and the planning and implementation of programs relating to the conservation, development and utilization of water resources be amended by striking out lines 22 to 25, both inclusive, page 16 thereof, and substituting therefor in clause 13(3)

"(c) undertake the collection of effluent discharge fees prescribed to be payable by any person for the deposit of waste in those waters but in no case shall an effluent discharge fee be collected for the deposit of waste in respect of any project commenced after the establishment of the agency.'

The House divided on Motion No. 11 (Mr. Aiken) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Alkenbrack, Baldwin, Barnett, Beaudoin. Bell, Benjamin, Bigg, Brewin, Broadbent, Burton. Cadieu (Meadow Lake). Coates. Comeau. Crouse, Dinsdale, Dionne, Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands), Downey,

Flemming.

Aiken,

Gleave, Godin, Grills, Hales, Harding, Harkness, Horner, Howe, Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand), Lambert (Bellechasse), Lambert (Edmonton West), Laprise, MacDonald (Egmont), MacEwan, MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond). MacInnis (Mrs.),

MacLean.