Previous Belgian prize winners are Geo Norge, who received the inaugural award in 1971. Suzanne Lilar (1973), Pierre Mertens (1975), Marcel Moreau (1977) and Hubert Juin (1979); the prize has been awarded to Canadian writers Gaston Miron (1972), Réjean Ducharme (1974), Marie-Claire Blais (1976), Jacques Godbout (1978), and Victor-Lévy Beaulieu (1980).

- 30 -

- 2 -