## Part B – The Machinery of Government

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade advises the government on foreign issues. And it administers and coordinates Canada's foreign policy. But how is that policy created?

In the Canadian system there are three elements of government: legislative, executive and judicial. Those powers correspond to: Parliament; the Prime Minister and Cabinet (in the name of the Crown); and the courts.

