1896	A federation (Federated Malay States) is created of those states under British protection (Selangor, Perak, Pahang and Negeri Sembilan). Kuala Lumpur is chosen as headquarters.
1909	Siam transfers all rights over Kedah, Perlis, Kelantan and Trengganu to Great Britain. These Sultans refuse to join the Federated Malay States, as does Johore, and the British share in their administration is correspondingly less.
1941-1945	The Japanese occupy Malaya.
1946	The British make a proposal to create a centralized Malayan Union. It meets with bitter opposition.
1948	A new British proposal is accepted and the Federation of Malaya is established. This consists of the nine Malay states and the Crown Colonies of Malacca and Penang. Originally much of the control is in British hands but is followed by increasing steps-towards self-government. Communist terrorism leads to the declaration of a State of Emergency.
1957	Independence is declared on August 31. Tengku Abdul Rahman is the First Prime Minister.
1963	Sarawak, Sabah and Singapore join the federation and Malaysia is formed.
1965	Singapore is expelled from the federation and becomes an independent country.

country.	
PRIME MINI	STERS OF MALAYSIA
Tungku Abdul Rahman	 August 1957 to September 1970 (The Tungku had in fact been Prime Minister of pre-independence Malaya since August 31, 1950);
Tun Abdul Razak	- September 1970 to January 1976;
Tun Hussein Onn	- January 1976 to July 1981;
Dato' Seri Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamed	- July 1981 to present (Malaysia's longest serving Prime Minister).