country. The Conservatives, under *Sir Robert L. Borden*, won but were almost permanently wiped out in Quebec. These were eventful years and the first new party rumbles were heard from the West.

1920-1921 Arthur Meighen became Prime Minister with the Conservative coalition still in control of Parliament. The United Farmers of Alberta took over that Province in 1921 and a similar group took control of Manitoba. Out of the farmers' revolt would come three new parties; the first was the Progressives under T. A. Crerar.

1921-1926 William Lyon Mackenzie King, Liberal, grandson of William Lyon Mackenzie, became Prime Minister. He would have an extra-

ordinary, long career.

A bachelor, he was intensely occupied with the family of man. He was a leader of parts; a scholar who studied at the University of Toronto, the University of Chicago and Harvard; in his

youth a crusading journalist exposing sweat shop conditions in industry; a politician who designed much social legislation; and for much of his life, a student of the occult.

1926-1926 Arthur Meighen returned as a Conservative PM briefly — from June to September.

1926-1930 William Lyon Mackenzie King returned — the Progressives came in second, but declined to be the official Opposition Party.

1930-1935 Richard Bedford Bennett, Conservative, took office less than a year after the great market crash of 1929. He introduced the highest tariff in Canadian history in an effort to bring back prosperity. In 1935, just before leaving office, he put together what was called the "Canadian New Deal." On the Prairies three new parties were contesting the established ones, the Reconstruction Party, the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation 26

under J. S. Woodsworth, and the Social Credit Party, founded on the theories of an English engineer, Maj. G. H. Douglas, and led by William "Bible Bill" Aberhart. Maurice Duplessis, the leader of the Union Nationale, became Premier in Quebec, and within the parties the provincial leaders were showing new independence, notably Mitchell Hepburn in Ontario, a Liberal.

1935-1948 William Lyon Mackenzie King began his longest stretch in office, thirteen years and one month. Much of it would be a wartime period of growing prosperity. The Conservatives became the Progressive Conservatives when they absorbed the Progressive Party: John Bracken was their leader. Maurice Duplessis fought conscription in Quebec, and George Drew became the Conservative Premier of Ontario. Lester Pearson, a career diplomat, became Canada's Secretary of State for External Affairs, a first step on a path that would bring him to the Presidency of the General Assembly of the United Nations, a Nobel Peace Prize for his work in the Suez Crisis, and the leadership of the country in the sixties.

1948-1957 The Liberals remained in office and Newfoundland became the tenth Province. *Joseph Smallwood*, a Liberal, ex-Boston and New York journalist, and a labour leader in his prov-

ince was its first Premier. He is still in office, though the twenty-two years may now be at an end. Alberta remained the Social Credit stronghold, and British Columbia elected a Social Credit government in 1952.

1957-1963 John George Diefenbaker, a fiery prairie lawyer, became the first Conservative (now Progressive Conservative) Prime Minister in almost a generation. In 1958, after an active legislative year, the Conservatives called an election and won by the most overwhelming majority in history - 208 Conservatives were seated in the House of Commons, 49 Liberals and less than a handful of minor party members. In Quebec Réal Caouette, a hard-campaigning car dealer, led his branch of the Social Credit Party to impressive accomplishments, sending twenty-six members to Ottawa. The New Democratic Party evolved out of the CCF, and T. C. Douglas, an

WESTERN FARMERS

FENBAKER

ordained Baptist minister and former Premier of Saskatchewan, was named its leader.

1963-1968 Lester B. Pearson, Liberal, became Prime Minister in a period of economic recession and political confusion.

1968- Pierre Elliott Trudeau, Liberal, succeeded Pearson as party head and as Prime Minister.