COACHING AWARD The Saskatchewan Physical Education Initiative Award was presented to members of Assiniboia Detachment in recognition of the many hours devoted to coaching activities in the community by Assiniboia Detachment members.

✓ Sgt. Randy Burt coached baseball and hockey for many years; also taught self-defence classes to high school students



Assiniboia is the first Detachment to receive this award. Cst. R.M. Long proudly accepted the plaque on behalf of her colleagues, presented by Sherry Saxton-Richards, Saskatchewan Physical Education Association representative.

- ✓ Cst. Rhonda Long helped coach cross-country and track at the local high school; coached ringette; helped individual students with weight-training programs
- ✓ Cpl. Darryl Stevenson coached baseball; assistant hockey coach for three years; helped organize hosting of provincial PeeWee Ball Tournament; assistant football coach at high school for three years; organized Honda Hill Run Throw competitions
- ✓ Cst. Fred Foerster helped with cross-country team '95; coached basketball for three years; police liaison officer for Assiniboia Elementary School

VETERANS' NEWS The Regina Division of the RCMP Veterans' Association welcomed Reg. No. 21777, ex-S/Sgt. B.M. Dunn as a new member.

"G" DIVISION HEADQUARTERS — YELLOWKNIFE, NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

BIRTH To Reg. No. 43086, Cst. G.F. Demmon and his wife, Ramona, a daughter, Natalie Danielle, on August 28, 1995, at Hinton, Alberta.

NEW PILOT PROJECT On May 22, 1996, the first members of the RCMP Auxiliary Constable Program in the Northwest Territories were welcomed into the RCMP. Under a pilot project, the Government of the Northwest Territories, Department of Justice, agreed to fund this Program in Yellowknife. The 16 Auxiliary Constables come from all walks of life and represent an excellent cross-section of the community. The auxiliary members were sworn in by C/Supt. Ross Grimmer, CO, "G" Division, in the presence of The Honourable Kelvin Ng, Minister of Justice, and Yellowknife Mayor David Lovell.



(L-R) Front row: Cst. Charlotte Evans, A/Csts Mike Bourque, Loraine Conway, Jeff Steinward and Alison Gloeden, The Hon. Kelvin Ng, Mayor David Lovell, A/Csts Mélanie Lacroix and Linda Thiel, S/Sgt. Dave Grundy. Back row: Sgt. Vern White, A/Csts Paul Mouncey, Ross Jen,

Jim Peterson, Emmett Crossman and Michael Dunsmore, C/Supt. Ross Grimmer, A/Csts Mitch Siemens, Ron Nickle and Gerda Groothuizen. Missing: A/Csts Steven Pagotto and Francis Jackson.