### PROTOCOL ON RUM

#### BETWEEN

#### THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

#### AND

# THE MEMBER STATES OF THE CARIBBEAN COMMON MARKET

THE CONTRACTING PARTIES to the Trade and Economic Cooperation Agreement signed at Kingston on January 20th 1979 (hereinafter referred to as "The Agreement") between the Government of Canada and the Governments of Antigua (now Antigua and Barbuda), Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts/Nevis/Anguilla (now St. Kitts and Nevis), Saint Lucia, St. Vincent (now St. Vincent and the Grenadines) and Trinidad and Tobago (hereinafter referred to as "Member States of the Caribbean Common Market");

**DESIRING** to facilitate the widest possible facilities for the expansion of sales in Canada of rum originating in Member States of the Caribbean Common Market;

ACTING PURSUANT to Article XIX of the Agreement;

**HAVE AGREED** as follows:

### ARTICLE I

The Government of Canada undertakes to use its good offices with the provincial authorities towards facilitating the accord of national treatment to rum that is the product of Member States of the Caribbean Common Market in respect of measures affecting the listing, delisting, distribution and mark-up of distilled spirit.

### ARTICLE II

This Protocol shall enter into force on signature by all the Contracting Parties to the Agreement. It shall remain in force for five years. Thereafter it shall continue in force subject to the right of any Contracting Party following the initial period of five years to denounce it at any time with respect to any other Contracting Party on twelve months' notice. Denunciation of the Agreement shall be regarded as denunciation of the Protocol.

# **ARTICLE III**

The original of the present Protocol shall be deposited with the Secretary-General of the Caribbean Community Secretariat who shall send certified copies thereof to all Contracting Parties.