ISSUE

The Commission on Human Rights was established in 1946. Its primary purpose is to prepare recommendations and reports on international declarations or conventions, conventions on civil liberties, freedom of information, the protection of minorities, the prevention of discrimination on the basis of race, sex, language or religion, and any other matter concerning human rights. The Commission is composed of 43 members elected for a term of three years by the Economic and Social Council.

For the 1988 Session, the members of the Commission are as follows:

African States		Asian States	
Algeria Botswana Ethiopia Gambia Mozambique Nigeria Rwanda Sao Tome Senegal Somalia Togo	(1988)* (1990) (1988) (1990) (1988) (1990) (1989) (1989) (1989) (1989) (1989)	Bangladesh China Cyprus India Iraq Japan Paristan Philippines Sri Lanka	(1988) (1990) (1988) (1988) (1989) (1990) (1989) (1989) (1990)
Latin American States		Western European and Other States	
Argentina Brazil Colombia Costa Rica Mexico Nicaragua Peru Venezuela	(1990) (1989) (1988) (1988) (1989) (1988) (1990) (1990)	Belgium France Germany, F.R. Ireland Italy Norway Portugal Spain United Kingdom U.S.A.	(1988) (1989) (1990) (1988) (1989) (1988) (1990) (1990) (1990)
Eastern European States			
Bulgaria		(1990)	

(1988)

(1989)

(1988)

(1989)

Byelorrussian S.S.R.

U.S.S.R.

Yugoslavia

German Democratic Republic

^{*}Indicates expiration date of term.