Opportunities in New Brunswick

General Information

- ADMINISTRATION.—*The Crown*. The Crown is represented by a Lieut.-Governor, appointed by the Governor-General in Council, with an Executive Council composed of members with portfolios and three without portfolios or salary.
- Legislature. The Legislative Assembly meets at Fredericton, and is composed of 46 members, who are appointed by the people every 4 years.
- Municipal Government. The Province is divided into 15 Counties, governed by a Municipal Council elected by the people, containing representatives from each parish. Each County is divided into parishes which are non ecclesiastical. There are three incorporated cities and 17 incorporated towns, each with a Government of its own.
- *Revenue.* Under the terms of the B.N.A. Act, 1887, the Dominion Government grant an annual subsidy to the Province computed on a fixed rate of 80 cents per head of the population. The remainder of the revenue is derived from the sales of Crown Lands, timber limits, mining licenses, fishing licenses, fees, and other miscellaneous receipts.
- Franchise. Any male British subject of full age has a vote for the Legislature, if he has lived in the Province for 6 months from August 25th in any one year.
- AREA.—The total area of the Province is 27,985 square miles. In 1911, 25 per cent. of the land was occupied, and in most cases owned by the occupiers. The large majority of the holdings are between 11 and 200 acres.
- Physical Features. The surface is generally undulating, but in the North and North-west there are many ranges of hills, covered with forests, of from 1.200 to 2,000 ft. with higher individual peaks. The highest elevation is Bald or Sagamook Mt. in Restigouche Co., 2,604 ft. In the South along the Bay of Fundy the coast is rocky and bold. West of St. John the soil is fertile and rich with many beautiful valleys. Along the East coast for 20 miles inland the Country is flat with marshes.