PRAYERS.

Pursuant to the Order of the Day, the following Petitions were severally read:-

Of the Alberta Railway and Coal Company; praying for the passing of an Act authorizing them to change the gauge of their railway; removing doubts as to the meaning and intent of the eleventh section of their Act of incorporation, and also removing doubts as to their power to search for and mine coal and other minerals.

Of the Belleville and Lake Nipissing Railway Company; praying for an Act extending the time for the commencement and completion of their proposed works; and for enlarging their bonding powers and for other purposes;—and

Of the Great North-West Central Railway Company; praying for the passing of an Act amending their charter in relation to the number of Directors required for the said Corporation.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Abbott, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Smith, it was

Resolved, That the Honorable Messieurs Almon, Baillargeon, Bellerose, Botsford, DeBoucherville, Drummond, Haythorne, Lacoste, MacInnes (Burlington), Miller, Odell, Poirier, Power, Scott, Sullivan, and Wark, be appointed a Committee to assist His Honor the Speaker in the direction of the Library of Parliament, so far as the interests of this House are concerned, and to act on behalf of this House as members of a Joint Committee of both Houses on the Library.

Ordered, That the said Resolution be communicated to the House of Commons

by one of the Masters in Chancery.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Abbott, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Smith,

it was

Resolved, That the Honorable Messieurs Casgrain, Dever, Girard, Gowan, Guévremont, Haythorne, Kaulbach, Lougheed, McClelan, McKindsey, Macfarlane, Ogilvie, Perley, Pelletier, Power, Read, Vidal, and Wark, be appointed a Committee to superintend the Printing of this House during the present Session, and be instructed to act on behalf of this House with the Committee of the House of Commons as a Joint Committee of both Houses on the subject of Printing.

Ordered, That the said Resolution be communicated to the House of Commons

by one of the Masters in Chancery.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Abbott, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Smith, it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Abbott, Archibald, Bellerose, Botsford, Boyd, Chaffers, Clemow, Cochrane, Drummond, Lacoste, Lewin, Lougheed, McCallum, McMillan, MacInnes (Burlington), Macdonald (Midland), Macpherson (Sir David Lewis), Miller, Odell, Pâquet, Price, Prowse, Reid (Cariboo), Robitaille, Ross, Sanford, Smith, Sullivan, Thibaudeau, Vidal, and Wark, be appointed a Committee on Banking and Commerce for the present Session, to whom shall be referred all Bills on these subjects.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Abbott, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Smith,

it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Abbott, Almon, Alexander, Bellerose, Boulton, Clemow, Cochrane, DeBoucherville, Dickey, Drummond, Girard, Kaulbach, Leonard, Lougheed, McCallum, McClelan, McDonald (C.B.), McInnes (B.C.), McKay, McKindsey, McMillan, Macdonald (B.C.), MacInnes (Burlington), Montgomery, Miller, O'Donohoe, Ogilvie, Perley, Power, Price, Robitaille, Reid (Cariboo), Read (Quinté), Sanford, Scott, Smith, Stevens, Sutherland, and Vidal, be appointed a Committee on Railways, Telegraphs and Harbors for the present Session, to whom shall be referred all Bills on these subjects.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Abbott, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Smith,

it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Abbott, Archibald, Armand, Botsford, Chaffers, DeBlois, Dickey, Drummond, Flint, Girard, Grant, Howlan, Leonard, Mc-