

Commonwealth News Release

COMMONWEALTH COMMITTEE OF FOREIGN MINISTERS ON SOUTHERN AFRICA

Special Session: London, 16 February 1991

Members of the Committee

The Rt. Hon. Joe Clark (Canada) - Chairman; Senator The Hon. Gareth Evans (Australia); Dr Cedric Grant (Guyana); The Hon. V.C. Shukla (India); The Hon. Dato' Abu Hassan bin Haji Omar (Malaysia); The Hon. Major-General Ike O.S. Nwachukwu (Nigeria); The Hon. Ahmed Hassan Diria (Tanzania); The Hon. Lieutenant-General B.N. Mibenge (Zambia); The Hon. Dr. Nathan Shamuyarira (Zimbabwe).

CONCLUDING STATEMENT

Recent Developments in South Africa

- 1. The Commonwealth Committee of Foreign Ministers on Southern Africa met in a special session in London on 16 February to review recent developments in South Africa.
- 2. The immediate background to the meeting was President de Klerk's statement of 1 February 1991 to the South African Parliament in which he endorsed the concept of a multi-party conference to advance constitutional negotiations and announced the Government's intention to introduce legislation to repeal
- the Land Acts of 1913 and 1936;
- the Group Areas Act of 1956;
- the Development of Black Communities Act of 1984; and
- the Population Registration Act of 1950.
- 3. The Committee also took particular note of the "Manifesto for the New South Africa", also published on 1 February 1991, in which the South African Government