- 3) To report to the respective Governments on such discussions in order that consideration may be given to measures deemed appropriate and necessary to improve defence co-operation;
- C) That the Committee shall meet once a year or more often as may be considered necessary by the two Governments;
- D) That the Committee shall meet alternatively in Washington, D.C., and Ottawa, the chairman to be a Canadian member when the meetings are held in Canada and a United States member when meetings are held in the United States."

 This Committee has met four times: in 1958, 1959, 1960 and 1964.

4. The Permanent Joint Board on Defence

The Canada-United States Permanent Joint Board on Defence was established in August, 1940 by Prime Minister King and President Roosevelt when they met at Ogdensburg, New York, to discuss the problems of mutual defence. The conversations that took place resulted in the press release of August 18 known as the "Ogdensburg Declaration". The text was passed as an Order-in-Council and published in the Canada Treaty Series.

The Permanent Joint Board on Defence is established with a United States Section and a Canadian Section. Each Section has its own chairman (a civilian), 3 representatives from the armed services, and two civilian representatives, from the Department of External Affairs for Canada and from the State Department for the United States. During the last several years, it has become customary for representatives of the Canadian Departments of Transport and Supply and Services also to attend meetings of the Board as observers.

The Board was designed to be an advisory rather than an executive body, with the prime purpose of making recommendations to the respective governments on joint defence cuestions. At present, it normally meets three times a year at defence establishments in the two countries. No voting procedure is used and formal recommendations are passed unanimously. When a formal recommendation is approved by both governments, this approval becomes the executive directive to the government agencies concerned.

After the United States entered the war, in 1941, some of the Board's functions were taken over by the military departments of each government, but it has continued to be a particularly useful agency for the preliminary discussion of ideas at the official level, for negotiating defence matters in a setting where both military and diplomatic viewpoints are represented, for collecting and exchanging information, and for hastening executive action, smoothing out difficulties, eliminating delays, following up on decisions already taken and ensuring that important projects are not side-tracked in the press of departmental business.

5. Military Co-operation Committee

The MCC was established in 1946 to supplement the Permanent Joint Board on Defence. In 1949 it was separated from the PJBD and became directly subordinated to the Chief of Defence Staff for Canada and the Joint Chiefs of Staff for the United States. It is composed of two national sections, each chaired by an officer of Major-General rank. The MCC which meets several times a year is concerned with military planning for the defence of North America.

6. Regional Planning Group

This planning group is part of the NATO Command structure. The planning group covers the North American area and develops and recommends to the NATO Military Committee plans for the defence of the Canada/United States region. It meets alternately in the two countries.

7. The Senior Committee on United States/Canadian Defence Production-Development Sharing Programme

Arrangements in this field date back to the Hyde Park Declaration of the war years. The Senior Committee was organized in 1958. It meets generally twice a year at the Deputy Minister/Assistant Secretary level.