British Columbia.—British Columbia became a self-governing colony in 1858 and entered the Dominion as a Province by an Order in Council dated 16th May, 1871. The British Columbia Act called the "English Law Act" (R. S. B. C. 1897, c. 115), provides "that the Civil laws of England as the same existed on the 19th day of November, 1858, and so far as the same are not from local circumstances inapplicable, should be in force in all parts of British Columbia."

Ontario.-The Province of Quebec was divided into the two provinces Upper and Lower Canada by the Constitutional Act of 1791 (31 Geo. III c. 31). Lower Canada retained her old law. The first Parliament of Upper Canada which met at Newark, now Niagara, on 17th Sept. 1792, enacted as its first measure "that in all matters of controversy relative to property and civil rights resort shall be had to the laws of England (as they stood on the 15th day of October, 1792) as the rule for the decision of the same. 32 Geo. III c. 1. The two Provinces were reunited by the Union Act of 1840 (3 and 4 Vict. c. 35) but each portion retained its former laws. By the B. N. A. Act of 1867 Upper and Lower Canada again became separate Provinces and entered the Dominion each with its independent legal system.

In Manitoba the law is the "laws of England as they were on the 15th July, 1870 (Dominion Act 51 Vict. c. 33) Manitoba was made a Province by an Order in Council after the passing by the Dominion of the Manitoba Act (33 Vict. c. 3).

The North West Territories Act (Rev. Statutes of Canada c. 50) provides (s. 11) that the laws of England shall be law as at 15th July, 1870 "in so far as the same are applicable to the Territories." (See also the Judicature Ordinance in the Consolidated Ordinances of the N. W. Territories c. 21).