### NAYS.

Nays-39.

Messrs. Aikman, Armstrong, Bockus, Burritt, Burwell, Caldwell, Cameron, Cartwright, Chisholm, of Halton, Cornwall. Duncombe, Ferrie, Hotham, Hunter, Kearnes, Lewis, Malloch, Manahan, Marks, Matthewson, McDonell, of Stormont, McKay, McLean, McMicking, Merritt, Moore, Morris, Parke, Powell, Prince, Ruttan, Rykert, Salmon, Shade, Shaver, Sherwood, Solicitor General, Thorburn, Woodruff,—39.

Amendment lost-majority 32.

The question of amendment was decided in the negative, by a majority of thirty-

Second Amendment.

In amendment, Mr. Gowan, seconded by Mr. Cameron, moves that after the word "Resolved" in the original, the whole be expunged and the following inserted:—"that an Address be presented to the Lieutenant Governor, praying him to dissolve this present Parliament and appeal to the people, on the present Constitution of the House,"

Divi sion on amendment

On which the yeas and nays were taken as follows:

### YEAS.

Yeas-11.

Messrs. Armstrong, Cameron, Gowan, Manahan, McMicking, Moore, Morris, Parke, Prince, Shaver, Thorburn,-11.

## NAYS.

Navs-33

Messrs. Aikman, Attorney General, Bockus, Boulton, Burritt, Burwell, Cartwright, Chisholm of Halton, Cornwall, Ferrie, Gamble, Hotham, Hunter, Kearnes, Lewis, Malloch, Marks, Mathewson, McDonell, of Northumberland, McDowell, of Stormont, McKay, McLean, Merritt, Murney, Powell, Robinson, Ruttan, Rykert, Salmon, Shade, Sherwood, Solicitor General, Woodruff—23.

Second amendment lost -majority 22

The question of amendment was decided in the negative, by a majority of twenty-two.

Division on Resolution.

On the original question the yeas and nays were taken as follows:

### YEAS.

Yeas-10.

Messrs. Aikman, Armstrong. Attorney General, Bockus, Boulton, Burritt, Burwell, Cameron, Cartwright, Chisholm of Halton, Cornwall, Ferrie, Gamble, Gowan, Hotham, Hunter, Kearnes, Lewis, Malloch, Manahan, Marks, Mathewson, McDonell of Stormont, McKay, McLean, McMicking, Merritt, Morris, Murney, Powell, Prince, Ruttan, Rykert, Salmon, Shade, Shaver, Sherwood, Solicitor General, Thorburn, Woodruft-40.

# NAYS.

Nays-5.

Messrs. Caldwell, McDonald, of Northumberland, Moore, Parke, Robinson, -5.

Resolution carriedmajority 35. The question was carried in the affirmative by a majority of thirty-five, and the Resolution was adopted.

Second Resolution put.

The second resolution was put as follows:

Resolved, That the experience of the past year confirms this House in the opinion then expressed, and they are still of opinion, that a United Legislature for the Canadas, on the terms then proposed, is indispensable, and that further delay must prove ruinous to the best interests of the Canadas.

Division on second Resolution.

On which the yeas and nays were taken as follows:

#### YEAS.

Yeas-35.

Messrs. Aikman, Armstrong, Bockus, Burritt, Burwell, Cameron, Cartwright, Chisholm, of Halton, Cornwall, Duncombe, Ferrie, Hotham, Hunter, Keurnes, Lewis, Malloch, Manahan, Marks, Mathewson, McDonell, of Stormont, McKay, McLean, McMicking, Merritt, Morris, Powell, Prince, Rykert, Salmon, Shade, Shaver, Sherwood, Solicitor General, Thorburn, Woodruff,—35.

# NAYS.

Nave-11.

Messrs. Attorney General, Boulton, Caldwell, Gamble, Gowan, McDonell, of Northumberland, Moore, Murney, Purke, Robinson, Ruttan,-11.

Resolution adoptedmajority 24. The question was carried in the affirmative by a majority of twenty-four, and the Resolution was adopted.