men, then the second class service men, and lastly the Reserve men.

Eighteen Mito be formed.

X. The Commander in Chief shall have power from time to litary Districts time, by any Militia General Order, to divide the Province into eighteen Military Districts, to be designated as he shall see fit, nine to be in Upper Canada and nine in Lower Canada.

Also Regimentar and battalion divisions.

XI. The Commander in Chief shall have power from time to time, by any Militia General Order, to divide the Military Districts respectively into Regimental divisions, and the Regimental divisions into Battalion divisions, and to designate such divisions by such names or numbers as he shall see fit.

What men Regiments and Battalions.

XII. The Militiamen resident in each Battalion division shall form the shall form a Battalion of the Regiment of the Regimental division in which it lies, and all the Battalions in any Regimental division shall form the Regiment thereof.

Officers of Regiments and Battalions.

XIII. To each Military District a Colonel shall be appointed who shall command the Militia in such District, and to each Battalion a Lieutenant Colonel, and such number of Majors and Regimental Staff Officers as may be deemed necessary.

Company divisions to be formed.

XIV. Each Lieutenant Colonel shall have power, by any order made with the approval of the Colonel of the Military District, from time to time to divide his Battalion division into Company divisions, each containing, as nearly as may be conveniently practicable, not less than fifty nor more than seventyfive resident Service men; and the Militiamen resident within each Company division shall form a Company of the Battalion.

Existing divisions to remain unaltered.

XV. All now existing Militia divisions shall remain in force until altered as aforesaid, and such of them as shall be allowed to remain unaltered shall be held to have been made by the proper authority under this Act, and for the purposes thereof.

Officers and non-Commisstoned Outcers of Companies.

XVI. To each Company of Militia there shall be appointed of Commissioned Officers, a Captain, a Lieutenant, and an Ensign; and of non-Commissioned Officers, three Serjeants and three Corporals.

Enrolment how to be Officers.

XVII. The enrolment of the Sedentary Militiamen shall be made in each Company division by the Captain thereof, with the assistance of the Officers and non-commissioned Officers of the Company; and it shall be the duty of the Captain, and, under his orders, of the other Officers and non-commissioned Officers of the Company, by actual enquiry at each house in the Company division, and by every other means in their power, to make and keep at all times a correct Roll of the Company in such form as shall be directed by the Adjutant General.