At the end of the eighteenth century the churches at the following places were called Baptist churches: Yarmouth, Digby, Lower Granville, Upper Granville, Cornwallis, Horton, Halifax, Chester, Sackville, Norton, Waterborough, Prince William and Ragged Islands. Of these thirteen churches only two, one at Halifax and the one at Ragged Islands, could be said to be strictly Baptist churches. The one at Horton had relaxed its rule of communion two years after it was formed. The churches at Digby, Sackville, Norton and Prince William and Waterborough, which had been recently formed, were probably composed of immersed members only; but the churches at Yarmouth, Lower Granville, Upper Granville, Cornwallis and Chester were still of mixed membership. In the year 1800, there were twelve pastors who, barring academic training, were well qualified for their work. They possessed many excellencies which it would be difficult to exaggerate. Thomas Handly Chipman, and Elijah Estabrooks, James Manning, Edward Manning, Joseph Dimock, Harris Harding, Theodore Seth Harding, John Burton, Enoch Turner, John Craig, Joseph Crandall and James Innis, were a band of loving brothers, filled with zeal and the spirit of self-sacrifice. The care of all the churches and of all the country was upon them. They often visited each other, not for social purposes alone, but more especially for the purpose of rendering help to each other in evangelistic work. These pioneers have left the denomination a rich and inspiring legacy.

(2) History to 1809. The future of the Baptists of the Maritime Provinces was largely determined by the ground taken at the Association in 1800. The