the very best I can to keep that in mind and to treat all hon. members in a fair and equal way, and I shall certainly try to do that.

If the hon, member is having difficulty in discussions with any party in the House, I invite him to seek out members of whatever party it is and to have discussions. If the hon, member has a complaint that, for whatever reason, he or others are not being allowed a fair chance to express themselves in this House, I invite the hon. member and any other member to come and see me, and I will deal with it as best I can.

The hon, member actually rose on a point of privilege. It is probably a point of order. I have explained that I had to deal with that matter many months ago. The hon. member has risen again and I have at least allowed him to say something which perhaps he ought to take up in some other way with ministers or with his colleagues.

I am going to proceed with Routine Proceedings.

# ROUTINE PROCEEDINGS

[English]

### INTERPARLIAMENTARY DELEGATION

PRESENTATION OF REPORT OF DELEGATION TO CONFERENCE ON THE TRANSITION TO DEMOCRACY IN CONTEMPORARY EUROPE

Ms. Barbara Greene (Don Valley North): Mr. Speaker, the Canadian parliamentary delegation that attended the conference on The Transition to Democracy in Contemporary Europe in Warsaw, Poland from May 29 to June 4, 1990, has the honour to present its report.

#### PETRO-CANADA PUBLIC PARTICIPATION ACT

MEASURE TO ENACT

Hon. John McDermid (Minister of State (Privatization and Regulatory Affairs)) moved for leave to introduce Bill C-84, an act respecting the privatization of the national petroleum company of Canada.

Mr. Gauthier: Shame. Shame.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

# Routine Proceedings

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon, members: No.

(1520)

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

Mr. Gauthier: Shame. Shame. No, absolutely not.

Mr. Cooper: Absolutely shocking.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 290)

#### YEAS

Hawkes

Rocheleau

Siddon

Saint-Julien

Members Andre Atkinson Beatty Bernier Bertrand Biornson Bouchard (Roberval) Bosley Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Bourgault Boyer Brightwell Browes Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Cardiff Champagne (Champlain) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Charest Cole Collins Corbeil Cooper Crosby (Halifax West) Danis DeBlois de Cotret Desiardins Dobbie Domm Dorin Duplessis Epp Feltham Ferland Fontaine Fretz Gérin Gibeau Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Greene Harvey (Chicoutimi)

Hockin Horner Johnson Jourdenais Kempling Lapierre Larrivée Layton Leblanc (Longueuil) Littlechild Loiselle Malone Martin (Lincoln) Mazankowski McDougall (St. Paul's) Monteith Nicholson Plamondon Plourde Porter Pronovost Redway Ricard

Roy-Arcelin Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth)

Fee

Hudon Jelinek

Koury

Moore

Richardson