Because many of the provisions of the Convention fall under provincial jurisdiction extensive consultations were undertaken with provincial authorities.

The governments of all ten provinces have informed the Federal Government that they support the ratification by Canada of the Convention.

Canada has consistently attached great importance to all measures aimed at the prevention and elimination of torture throughout the world. Canada participated actively in all stages of the drafting of the Convention at the United Nations Commission on Human Rights and the Third Committee of the United Nations General Assembly. In depositing its instrument of ratification, Canada becomes the twenty-first state party to the Convention which will enter into force on June 26, 1987. The twenty other states to have ratified or acceded to date are Sweden, Mexico, Belize, France, Philippines, Egypt, Norway, Senegal, Argentina, Uruguay, Uganda, Switzerland, Bulgaria, Cameroon, the Ukraine, Byelorussia, U.S.S.R., Afghanistan, Hungary, and Denmark.