and the Village of Ashburnham, and other surveyed Townships lying to the North of the said East Riding.

23. The County of Hastings divided into three Ridings, to be called respectively the West, East and North Ridings :-

The West Riding shall consist of the Town of Belleville, the Township of Sydney,

and the Village of Trenton.

The East Riding shall consist of the Townships of Thurlow, Tyendinaga and Hunger-

ford.

The North Riding shall consist of the Townships of Rawdon, Huntingdon, Madoc, Elzevir, Tudor, Marmora and the Village of Stirling, and any other surveyed Townships lying to the north of the said North Riding.

- 24. The County of Lennox shall consist of the Townships of Richmond, Adolphustown, North Fredericksburgh, South Fredericksburgh, Ernesttown and Amherst Island, and the Village of Napanee.
- 25. The County of Addington shall consist of the Townships of Camden, Portland, Sheffield, Hinchinbrooke, Kaladar, Kennebec, Olden, Oso, Anglesea, Barrie, Clarendon, Palmerston, Effingham, Abinger, Miller, Canonto and Denbigh.
- 26. The County of Frontenac shall consist of the Townships of Kingston, Wolfe Island, Pittsburg and Howe Island, Storrington, Loughborough and Bedford.

27. The County of Renfrew divided into two Ridings, to be called respectively the South and North Ridings:-

The South Riding shall consist of the Townships of McNab, Bagot, Blithfield, Brougham, Horton, Admaston, Grattan, Matawatchan, Griffith, Lyndoch, Raglan, Radcliffe, Brudenell, Sebastopol, and the Villages of Arnprior and Renfrew.

The North Riding shall consist of the Townships of Ross, Bromley, Westmeath, Stafford, Pembroke, Wilberforce, Alice, Petawawa, Buchanan, South Algona, North Algona, Fraser, McKay, Wylie, Rolph, Head, Maria, Clara, Haggerty, Sherwood, Burns and Richards, and any other surveyed Townships lying north-westerly of the said North Riding.

And the Question being proposed, That this House doth concur in the first of the

said proposed Electoral Divisions;

Mr. Mackenzie moved, in amendment thereto, That the County of Lambton has an area of nearly 700,000 acres; that by the last Municipal statistical returns the number of rate-payers is stated as 5,768, representing a population of nearly 38,000 souls; that the average acreage per rate-payer is larger than in any other County in the Province, or 120 acres to each rate-payer, leaving room for three times the present population before it can be as dense as that of many of the older Counties; that the assessed value of the said County for the year 1865, was \$5,103,284, or more than double the valuation of a number of Counties about to receive additional representation, and more than that of any other County under the proposed distribution of 17 additional seats; and the said County of Lambton shall receive one additional Member.

And the Question being put on the amendment; the House divided :--And it was

passed in the Negative.

Then, the Question being put, That this House doth concur in the first of the said proposed Electoral Divisions:—It was resolved in the Affirmative.

The second to the eighth of the said proposed Electoral Divisions were agreed to. The ninth of the said proposed Electoral Divisions was agreed to, the blank being filled up with the word "Bothwell."

The tenth and eleventh of the said proposed Electoral Divisions were agreed to.

The twelfth of the said proposed Electoral Divisions was agreed to; the words "and "the Village of Mount Forest being added after Peel."

The thirteenth and fourteenth of the said proposed Electoral Divisions were agreed to. The fifteenth of the said proposed Electoral Divisions was agreed to; the second blank being filled up with the word " Monck."

The sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth of the said proposed Electoral Divisions

were agreed to.