Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement

Hughes	McDermid	Sparrow
Jacques	McDougall	St-Julien
Jelinek	(St. Paul's)	Stevenson
Johnson	McLean	Tardif
Joncas	Merrithew	Tétreault
Jourdenais	Mitges	Thacker
Kempling	Monteith	Thompson
Kilgour	Nicholson	Thorkelson
(Edmonton Southeast)	Nowlan	Tremblay
Koury	Oberle	(Rosemont)
Landry	O'Brien	Tremblay
Langlois	O'Kurley	(Ouébec-Est)
Larrivée	Paproski	Tremblay
Lavton	Plamondon	(Lotbinière)
Leblanc	Plourde	Turner
(Longueuil)	Porter	(Halton-Peel)
Lewis	Pronovost	Valcourt
Littlechild	Redway	Van de Walle
Loiselle	Reid	Vankoughnet
Lopez	Reimer	Venne
MacDonald	Ricard	Vien
(Rosedale)	Richardson	Vincent
MacDougall	Robitaille	Weiner
(Timiskaming)	Roy-Arcelin	Wenman
MacKay	Schneider	White
Malone	Scott	Wilbee
Marin	(Victoria—Haliburton)	Wilson
Martin	Scott	(Swift Current-Mapl
(Lincoln)	(Hamilton-Wentworth)	Creek—Assiniboia)
Masse	Shields	Wilson
Mayer	Siddon	(Etobicoke Centre)
Mazankowski	Sobeski	Winegard
McCreath	Soetens	Worthy—156

NAYS

Members

Allmand	Fontana	Marleau
Althouse	Foster	Martin
Anawak	Fulton	(Lasalle—Émard)
Angus	Funk	McCurdy
Arseneault	Gaffney	McGuire
Axworthy	Gardiner	McLaughlin
(Saskatoon—Clark's	Gauthier	Mifflin
Crossing)	Gray	Milliken
Axworthy	(Windsor West)	Mills
(Winnipeg South	Guarnieri	Mitchell
Centre)	Harb	Murphy
Baker	Harvard	Nault
Barrett	Harvey	Nunziata
Bélair	(Edmonton East)	Nystrom
Bellemare	Heap	Pagtakhan
Benjamin	Hopkins	Parent
Black	Hovdebo	Parker
Blackburn	Hunter	Peterson
(Brant)	Jordan	Phinney
Blondin	Karpoff	Pickard
Boudria	Karygiannis	Proud
Brewin	Keyes	Rideout
Broadbent	Kristiansen	Riis
Butland	Langan	Robichaud
Caccia	Langdon	Rodriguez
Callbeck	Lapierre	Samson
Campbell	Laporte	Simmons
(South West Nova)	LeBlanc	Skelly
Catterall	(Cape Breton High-	(North Island—Powell
Clancy	lands—	River)
Comuzzi	Canso)	Skelly
Copps	Lee	(Comox—Alberni)
Crawford	MacAulay	Speller
de Jong	MacDonald	Stewart
Dionne	(Dartmouth)	Stupich
Duhamel	MacLellan	Taylor
Ferguson	MacWilliam	Tobin
Finestone	Maheu	Vanclief
Fisher	Manley	Volpe
Flis	Marchi	Waddell

Walker Young Young
Wappel (Gloucester) (Beaches—Woodbine)—
Whittaker
Wood

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I declare the motion carried.

GOVERNMENT ORDERS

[English]

CANADA-UNITED STATES FREE TRADE AGREEMENT IMPLEMENTATION ACT

MEASURE TO ENACT

The House resumed from Tuesday, December 20, consideration in committee of Bill C-2, an Act to enact the Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act—Mr. Crosbie—Mr. Danis in the Chair.

Mr. Lewis: Mr. Chairman, I move:

That further consideration of clauses 1 to 150, the Preamble, Title and Schedule and any amendments proposed thereto at the Committee of the Whole stage of Bill C-2 shall be the first business of the committee and shall not be further postponed.

The Chairman: The Hon. Member for Kingston and the Islands rises on a point of order.

• (1550)

Mr. Milliken: Mr. Chairman, as Hon. Members will know, the present closure rule was introduced into the House of Commons in 1913. The words of the rule are quite explicit. We heard them in the motion just read by the Deputy House Leader. I refer to the words: "The items shall be the first business of the committee and shall not further be postponed". I submit that the words "further be postponed" have a specific meaning. In my submission, the motion as proposed is out of order.

The words of the closure rule in the House have been unchanged from their introduction in 1913. At the time of their introduction the Hon. Arthur Meighen, who was the Minister who had framed this particular rule, made certain statements about the application of the closure rule. Those words are instructive for understanding the manner in which it is to be dealt with in the House today. I would like to refer to *House of Commons Debates* of April 10, 1913 where, as reported on page 7536, Mr. Meighen was discussing the manner in which this rule would be applied. He stated: