## 1.171

## THE BAY OF QUINTE SETTLEMENTS DURING THE WAR OF 1812.

By Clarence M. Warner, President Ontario Historical Society, Napanee, Ontario.

Taking a map of Upper Canada made about the year 1812 and looking particularly at the Bay of Quinte District one notices that the bay begins immediately west of the then Village of Kingston and that the townships bordering on the bay are Kingston, Ernesttown, Fredericksburgh, Adolphustown, Marysburgh, Sophiasburgh, Ameliasburgh, Sidney, Thurlow and Richmond. These municipalities had formerly been known as First Town, Second Town, Third Town and on up to Tenth Town. The six following Kingston were named for children of King George the Third. Their settlement was one direct result of the American War of Ladependence. Kingston, although but a village of a few houses, many of which were built of logs, was the largest and most important settlement in what is now Ontario. Till about 1825 it was larger than York.

Properly to understand the condition of the settlers occupying these districts when war was declared in 1812 it is necessary to know who the settless were and how they had spent the time during their years of residence in Canada.

The first systematic settlement began in 1783 when First Town was selected by a number of refugees from New York under Captain Grass as a suitable place for their new homes. This company, with others, had left New York in seven vessels and after a voyage of nine weeks landed at Sorel, Quebec. The women and children were left there until the men had chosen the district for settlement and after a winter all were moved to Kingston. Thus it was in the summer of 1784 that the first township was occupied-