for the better administration of justice thro' the same. Be it therefore enacted by the Governor, Council and Assembly, that the faid feveral counties so bounded and limited as aforesaid, shall be, continue and for ever remain distinct and seperate counties, to be called, known and distinguish'd by their respective names as aforefaid, and that they shall be, and are hereby respectively subdivided into towns or parishes as follows, viz.

The faid county called the County of Saint John, exclusive of

Names and defcription of towns

Pertland.

or parithes in the city of Saint John, shall be divided into three towns or the country of s. John. viz. parishes as follows, viz. the first town or parish to be called, known and distinguish'd by the name of Portland, bounded on the fouth by the Bay of Fundy, the eastern shore of the harbour of St. John, and the several northern bounds and limits of the faid city of St. John, on the east by the eastern boundary line of lot No. 1, granted to Samuel Hughes, continued to the northern boundary line of the county, faid eastern boundary line running from the shore of the Bay of Fundy-north fifteen degrees west -on the north by the northern boundary, line of faid county, and on the west by the eastern shore of the river St. John, to the limits of the faid city—The fecond town or parish to be called, known and distinguish'd by the name of St. Martin's, bounded on the fouth by the Bay of Fundy, on the east by the eastern boundary line of the county, on the north by the northern boundary line of the county, and on the west by the eastern boundary line of the faid town or parish of Portland.—The third town or parish to be called, known and distinguish'd by the name of Lancaster, bounded on the south by the Bay of Fundy, on the east by the western limits of the said city of Saint John and the

St. Martin's.

Lancafter.

Towns or pa-rishes in the worland. viz. Westmorland. Sackwille. Hopewell. Hill: frerough. Menilon.

The faid county called the County of Westmorland, shall be country of win- divided into five towns or parishes, to be called, known and distinguish'd by the following names, viz. the town or parish of Westmorland, the town or parish of Sackville, the town or parish of Hopewell, the town or parish of Hillsborough and the town or parish of Moncton, the same towns or parishes to be bounded as in and by the several letters patent or grants of the said towns, under the great seal of the province of Nova Scotia, the said towns are bounded and described, which bounds and descriptions are hereby ratified and confirmed as fully and effectually as if the fame were in this act particularly repeated and expressed.

western shore of the river Saint John, on the north by the northern boundary line of the county, and on the west by the

western boundary line of the same.

Towns or pa-rimes in Char-St. Stephen.

The faid county called Charlotte County shall be divided into late County, viz. seven towns or parishes, as follows, viz. the first town or parish to be called, known and distinguish'd by the name of St. Stephen, beginning at the foutherly bounds of lot number one hundred and thirteen,