Appendix IV.

THE COMMITTEES' DECLARATION OF AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF ALL CHRISTADELPHIANS IN CANADA.

23 Chester Ave., Toronto, October 25, 1917.

The Right Honorable
SIR ROBERT BORDEN, Premier,
Parliament Buildings, Ottawa, Canada.

Dear Sir .-

We, the Christadelphian Standing Committee of Canada, and also Elders of the Christadelphian Churches of Toronto and Hamilton, having been authorized to act on behalf of all Christadelphians in the Dominion of Canada to prepare, and have presented to the Honorable the House of Commons, a petition praying for exemption from military service, said petition was duly prepared, and by the good offices of Sir George Foster, Minister of Trade and Commerce, duly presented in Parliament then assembled, June, 1917.

But under the Military Service Act recently enacted, exemption from combatant service only is granted to such of His Majesty's subjects as seek exemption on conscientious grounds, all those thus exempted being still liable to be called upon to perform military and naval duties other than combatant, notwithstanding their conscientious scruples due to their profound religious convictions that all such services are forbidden them by the Supreme Divine Law.

We do therefore humbly supplicate in their behalf, and pray that work of national importance in civil occupations may be assigned Christa-

Moreover, we, the members of the Christadelphian Standing Committee, both jointly and severally, by virtue of the authority vested in us, do undertake to enter into the most solemn covenants with the Dominion Government to guard its clemency against abuse, should the same be extended to our people.

delphians of military age in lieu of military service.

We undertake also to discharge such duties as the Government may require of us in consideration of our having obtained total exemption from military service.

With all due consideration and respect, we beg to subscribe ourselves in all sincerity.

Yours very truly,
THE CANADIAN CHRISTADELPHIAN
STANDING COMMITTEE.

Geo. Waite (Chairman).
Wm. R. Hall (Secretary).
James Price.
Wm. Ebbs.
Alex. C. Renshaw.
Wm. Smallwood.
Geo. Carrick.
Robert C. Baillie.

Wm. Smallwood and Geo. Carrick having resigned, their places were filled by John Parkin and Edwin Hill.