The representatives of the equatorial countries attending the meeting in Fogota, wish to clearly state their position regarding the declarations of Colombia and Ecundor in the United Nations, which affirm that they consider the geostationary orbit to be an integral part of their sovereign territory; this declaration is a historical background for the defense of the sovereign rights of the equatorial countries. These countries will endeavour to make similar declarations in international agencies dealing with the same subject and to align their international policy in accordance with the principles elaborated in this document.

Signed in Bogota 3 December 1976 by the Heads of Delegations.

Bresil, Colombia, Congo, Ecuador, Indonesia, Kenya, Uganda, Zaire