both these offices, now called permanent missions, have been expanded.

Canada was one of the founding members of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization in 1949, and has played an active role in it ever since. In May 1952, on the establishment of the North Atlantic Council, a Canadian permanent delegation was set up in Paris to represent Canada's NATO interests. When, in October 1967, the headquarters of the NAC moved to Brussels, the Canadian delegation moved with it. Canada maintains in Paris a permanent delegation to the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. In addition to representing Canada on these permanent international bodies and their various committees, officials of the Department of External Affairs have been members of Canadian delegations at a large number of international conferences in recent years.

Kinds and numbers of missions
Today, Canada conducts its external
relations with 164 countries through
the following channels:

(a) Embassies in: Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroon, Chile, People's Republic of China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, the Holy See, Hungary, Indone-

sia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Lebanon, Mexico, Morocco, the Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United States of America, Venezuela, Yugoslavia, Zaire;

(b) Non-resident ambassadors to: Afghanistan, Angola, Bahrein, the People's Republic of Benin, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Burma, Burundi, Cape Verde Islands, Central African Empire, Chad, Comores, the People's Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Gabon, Democratic Republic of Germany, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Iceland, Jordan, Laos, Liberia, Libya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Somali Republic, Sudan, Republic of Surinam, Svria, Togo, United Arab Emirates, Upper Volta, Uruguay, the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, Yemen Arab Republic, People's Democratic Republic of Yemen: