N

- Nova Scotia—Retains its present limits, 7, and Executive Authority, 64. Its Legislature, 88. Courts, Commissions, Officers, &c., 129.
- ——Appropriation and Tax Bells—Provisions applicable to Parliament, apply to Provinces, 90. Assets—Signal Allowances to Provinces. Her Public Property not disposed of by Union Act, is retained, subject to be taken for Fortifications or Defence, 117.

0

- Oaths—By Members of Privy Council, 11. By Lieutenant Governors, same as Governor General, 61. By Senators, 128. By Members of Commons, Legislative Councillors and Members of Assemblies, 128. For Oath of Allegiance and Declaration of qualification—See 5th Schedule.
- Administered to Witnesses at the Bar of the Senate by the Clerk, or by the Chairman or any Member of any Committee—See Canada Act, 31 Vic., c. 24, ratified by Imperial Act, 38-39 Vic., c. 38, s. 2—Also Canada Act, 39 Vic., c. 7.
- Officers—May be appointed by Governor General for carrying out provisions of Union Act, 131.
- Offices and Officers—In Provinces, under exclusive control of Local Governments, 92 (4).
- Ontario—Province of—Formed of the late Province of Upper Canada, 6, is divided into 82 Electoral Districts, enumerated in the first Schedule, each returning one Member for the Commons, 40, and one for the Assembly, 70—See Readjustment of Representation.

The Legislature consists of the Lieutenant Governor and the Legislative Assembly, 69. With power to modify its constitution, except as regards the Office of Lieutenant Governor, 92 (1). The Governor's powers and authorities may be altered or abolished, if not derived from Imperial Acts, 65.—All Courts, Commissions, Officers, &c., continue after Union, 149. Office-holders ineligible, save Ministers and others, 83.

——The Assembly is elected for four years, subject to Dissolution, 85. To be convened, 81. From time to time, 82. At least once within 12 months, 86.