Government Orders

Mr. Hawkes: Madam Chairman, on a point of order, there have been discussions and our understanding was that on the motion to report the bill back to the House we wanted a recorded division. We want an actual count.

• (2230)

And the standing vote having been taken:

The Chairman: I declare the motion carried.

On a point of order, the hon. member for Calgary West.

Mr. Hawkes: I do not think the microphone was on for that voice count and I wonder if you could give it to us. He was at the other end of the table and we could not hear it.

The Chairman: I was given the yeas, 120; nays, 61.

Shall I rise and report the bill?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Bill reported.

[Translation]

Madam Deputy Speaker: Mr. Loiselle, seconded by Mr. Andre, moved that Bill C-29, an Act respecting compensation in the public sector of Canada and to amend another Act in relation thereto, be concurred in at the report stage as amended.

[English]

It is the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon, members: No.

Madam Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. members: Yea.

Madam Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

Madam Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Madam Deputy Speaker: Shall I dispense with the ringing of the bells?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 43)

YEAS

Members

Anderson Atkinson Beatty Bernier Blackburn (Jonquière) Blenkarn Bouchard (Roberval) Boyer Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Casey Champagne (Champlain) Chartrand Clifford Corbeil Couture

Danis de Cotret Desiardins Dobbie Dorin Epp Feltham Guilbault Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hogue Horner

Hudon Jacques Joneas Koury Langlois Layton Lopez MacDougall (Timiskaming)

Marin Mayer McCreath

McDougall (St. Paul's) Monteith Nicholson O'Kurley Porter Ricard Robitaille

Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Siddon

Soetens Stevenson Tétreault Thompson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Van De Walle

Vézina Weiner Andre Attewell Belsher Bertrand Blais Bosley Bourgault Brightwell Cardiff Chadwick Charest

Clark (Brandon-Souris)

Côté

Crosbie (St. John's West)

Darling Della Noce Dick Domm Duplessis Fee Ferland Greene Halliday Hawkes Hockin Holtmann Horning Hughes James Kempling Landry Larrivée

Loiselle MacDonald (Rosedale) Malone

Martin (Lincoln) Mazankowski McDermid McLean Moore Oberle Plourde Pronovost Reimer Richardson Roy-Arcelin Shields Sobeski Sparrow Tardif Thacker Thorkelson

Turner (Halton-Peel) Vankoughnet

White Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)-118

NAYS

Members

Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Bellemare

Arseneault Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre) Bélair Bevilacqua