The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the XXVII Session of the United Nations General Assembly which opens in New York on September 19. Mr. Sharp will be Chairman of the Delegation. The other members will be:

Dr. Saul F. Rae

Ambassador and Permanent
Representative of Canada to
the United Nations

Mr. Paul St. Pierre

Parliamentary Secretary to the Secretary of State for External Affairs

Senator Renaude Lapointe

Mr. Marvin Gelber

Mr. W. H. Barton

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Office of the United Nations and to other International Organizations at Geneva

Mr. Bruce Rankin

Consul-General of Canada in New

York

Mr. J.E.G. Hardy

Ambassador of Canada to Spain

Mr. J. G. McEntyre

Consul-General of Canada in Los

Angeles

Mr. J. A. Beesley

Legal Advisor, Department of

External Affairs

Advisers will be provided by the Department of External Affairs and by other government departments as appropriate.

(Biographical notes attached.)