APPENDIX I

Kinds and numbers of posts abroad

Canada conducts its external relations and consular activities abroad through the following offices:

- (a) Embassies in: Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroun, Chile, People's Republic of China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Holy See, Hungary, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Jordan, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Lebanon, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United States of America, Venezuela, Yugoslavia, Zaire;
- (b) Non-resident ambassadors to:* Afghanistan, Angola, Bahrein, the People's Republic of Benin, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Burma, Burundi, Cape Verde Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Comores, the People's Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Gabon, Democratic Republic of Germany, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Iceland, Jordan, Laos, Liberia, Libya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Qatar, Rwanda, Somali Republic, Sudan, Republic of Surinam, Syria, Togo, United Arab Emirates, Upper Volta, Uruguay, Socialist Republic of Vietnam, Yemen Arab Republic, People's Democratic Republic of Yemen;
- (c) High commissions in: Australia, Bangladesh, Barbados, Britain, Ghana, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Zambia, Zimbabwe;
- (d) Non-resident high commissioners to: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Botswana, Cyprus, Dominica, Fiji, Gambia, Grenada, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Swaziland, Tonga, Uganda, Western Samoa;
- (e) Commissioner in: Hong Kong;

^{*}Canada maintains "mini-posts" in Gabon, Guinea, Mali, Niger, Rwanda and Upper Volta, i.e. there is a small Canadian post in their capital, with the ambassador residing in his country of primary accreditation.